Not Accepting Guests

  • 57% response rate
  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amelia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 54 References 40 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • English teacher, Travel writer/blogger
  • A weird one
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To find the world's best vegan food.

ABOUT ME

I'm an English teacher muddling by in St Pete with my dog, Jack Kerouac.

I used to live out of a backpack, but my nomad days are for the most part over. Retired nomad? I like the sound of that. Let's go with that.

Write to me in Russian and I'll decline your request immediately. I get so many requests a day, in Russian...

I have a website: www.plantpowerednomad.com and a vlog https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOELSki7QljlxxUHtqZzJfA/videos?spfreload=10 that I should do more with.

I'm active and do acroyoga wherever/whenever possible. From the moment I first flew, I was in love. I'm a Yoga teacher, and will happily give free lessons to practice my skills.

I talk to everyone and bring home the waifs and strays for tea then talk them into staying for (vegan) dinner. As far as experiences with travel go, random is good. Often when I've travelled I haven't known where I'm sleeping that night, and tend to go with the flow, meet who I meet, and I'll say yes to everything unless my gut instinct screams no. Vegetables are an important part of my life.

PHILOSOPHY

If in doubt, acroyoga. Turn upside-down. Think for a while. Then eat vegan cake.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've been couchsurfing and hosting as much as possible since 2011, and despite all the controversy over the site I still think it's amazing.

I've couchsurfed in/through: Germany, Poland, Ukraine, Crimea, Austria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Japan, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Spain... and still going strong! I'm a bit of a die hard.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Many and numerous, amazing, unexpected, ever so memorable experiences. Often involving hills. Up where the air is clear and the view is better.

Interests

Pretty much everything. Particularly acroyoga, yoga, veganism, animals, books, travelling.

At the moment, anything involving how to nomad better very much interests me. If you're a fellow acroyogi/ writer/blogger/youtuber/vegan, get in touch.

  • animals
  • writing
  • books
  • singing
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • running
  • walking
  • partying
  • shopping
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • music
  • teaching
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I think I've watched one film this year, and I can't remember what.

I like to swap music with couch surfers. I like less-ordinary things.

I studied fairytales. I like very very old literature or stuff from the last 80 years. I haven't really had time to read recently though, and spend much more time writing.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hurtling down hills on a motorbike in Crimea driven by a crazy Russian, no lights, no mirrors, no fuel gage...

Encountered the underground anarchist scene in Kiev, welcomed with open arms and fell in love with the city and people.

The Lost City trek - the most physically challenging thing I've done. The atmosphere at 8am high in the mountains, in the remains of a city built 800AD, is something I'll never forget.

Felt the tiny vibrations of a hummingbird in my hand, and its frantic wingbeats against my palm.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Acroyoga, Juggling, Calm, bits of photography, watercolours, English, vegan cooking. Yoga - please let me teach you yoga!

Learn: Anything and everything. Outlooks, philosophies, principals, music, morals, walking talking cooking living breathing thinking...

Share: Cooking, walks, talks... music - I can sing a little and get a tune out of a flute. Laughter. Spontaneity. Randomness.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking, languages, good company, stories and laughter.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Cambodia, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Ireland, Russian Federation, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Amelia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups