Jonathan Ballet's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.


  • 17 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Chinese, Indonesian
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Music driven feelings
  • I've been well educated o/
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I've been born on Earth and I've been living there since


As hard it is to be to describe oneself, here's a try...

Easy-going, laid back, not really extraverted, dreamer. Hike hills and mountains, ride bicyles for kilometers, skate at night, sleep whenever possible. Enjoy coffee on a cozy couch or a crowded shop, same goes for tea and a fresh beer in Summer.
Free software developer, occasional Divemaster, drummer, cook.
I live in Lausanne, Switzerland, where I work in IT engineering in a small fintech company.

Oh, and I'm still trying to find what to do with life :!


Life is neither black or white, there are only shades of grey.


I love music, both listening and playing (I'm a drummer and I used to be a percussionist), I love concerts too!

When I can, I like to ride a bike around the cities or in the country-side, I can go to any place and climb the highest peak "oh, that's not so far!". I really love water and can spend times around snorkelling or diving. I'm a PADI Divemaster, woot \o/ (although I don't dive that much since I'm in Switzerland :(
Since I moved to Lausanne, I'm now trying to learn windsurfing during the Summer season and I like to go on the board whenever the wind allows.

I eat and drink nearly anything (as long as it's *good*), oh and I enjoy that and sharing dinner and drinks with friends. Maybe I cook for you : give me a oven, and I can bake a home-made cake or some French specialties! I'm also a lot into bread and I'm still trying to learn the intricacies of baking the perfect bread.

I'm interested into modern history, in particular to understand how the world is as it is now. (but I also like castles and pirates!)

Although I like to move around, I also enjoy reading, watching movies, playing games of any kind, geeking around my computer, walking to nowhere and beyond...
Moods are ticking me.

  • design
  • concerts
  • cooking
  • beer
  • coffee
  • walking
  • drinking
  • boating
  • shopping
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • drums
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • engineering
  • history
  • software
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen mostly to rock/metal music (like thrash & black metal, hardcore and indie rock), and I also enjoy listening to jazz music, I have a special attraction for jazz of the 50s and gypsy jazz too.
A quick glance at my music player: Annihilator, Miles Davis, K's Choice, Megadeth, Torche, Dave Brubeck, Amesoeurs, Wolves in the Throne Room, Nada Surf, Biohazard, Gotan Project, Taake...

I used to read lots of sci-fi and fantasy books, although I calmed down a bit since several years. I loved to read Dan Simmons' Hyperion and Douglas Adams' famous guide for example. I'm fond of French comics & Japanese mangas, read a few American comics too, and I'm becoming more and more interested about modern history (say from 19th century to nowadays) and East-Asia history.

On the movie side, I have a wide range of tastes, from In the Mood for Love, The Illusionist, Watchmen to Lesbian Vampire Killers (doh).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Slammed over Immortal's "At the Hearth of Winter" at Hellfest '10, diving with dolphins in Red Sea, diving the Komodo National Park and guiding people there without freaking out ._.

In October 2014, I ended up a 6 months/8500km trip across East-Asia (China > Singapore) and then Europe (France > Switzerland > Germany > France)

Teach, Learn, Share

I know a bunch of things about computer engineering and software developments, I can talk to you from operating systems design to language theory and software licensees and interoperability. Wow, crazy stuff.
I also play drums, and would *love* to touch a drums while traveling.
I'm a PADI Divemaster, so I know quite a bit about scuba diving, and also a bit about free diving, although I'll b glad to know even more today...
Of course, I'm know my French and my France.

I want to learn your passions, what makes you breath everyday, what makes you cry and smile.

I have lot of interest for Asia/East-Asia, I'm trying to learn Mandarin and I should really get back into improving the few bits of Indonesian I learned. I dream of being able to speak/write some Burmese (but resources are scarce :( ) and well, I'm also interested into the history of this area as well.

Oh, and show me how to make some dishes, and I can make some French things too (hopefully -_-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cambodia, China, Egypt, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Indonesia, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.

My Groups