Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 44 References 35 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • teaching, researching, loving it all
  • BA Sociology from Stony Brook University, MA at Brooklyn ...
  • From hauppauge, new york
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


to be happy, so far it is working!


Right now I'm working on a PhD in Sociology in NYC. I study urban public spaces (which is great because I get to spend a lot of time in urban public spaces!) Hopefully someday I'll be a professor...

I love to dance, cook and laugh.


to have minimal money in my bank account at all times, that way i know i'm not working too much and i'm enjoying life

being a full time student really helps with this philosophy!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I live in Brooklyn in New York City. Traveling for the summer but I'll be hosting again in the Fall.


I've been couchsurfing for seven years now. My longest stints were three months around Europe and six weeks on the US West Coast. My experiences have been really amazing, it's a great way to meet some very interesting people.


traveling, sociology, pilates, cooking. and lately- creative writing?

  • writing
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • pilates
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • backpacking
  • scuba diving
  • teaching
  • sign language
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

movies- Luis Buñuel films, all silly British romantic comedies, pbs documentaries, black and whites from the 40s

music- Bob Dylan, Of Montreal, The World Inferno Friendship Society

books- The Bell Jar, The Feminine Mystique, Middlesex, Sociology journals...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacking for three months has been the most amazing thing so far.

Jumping out of a plane was great but diving to the bottom of the ocean was better.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach people... pilates stretches, anything they want to know about urban sociology!, how to make smoothies or cook something healthy and delicious

I want to learn more Sign Language and Spanish, getting better at knitting would be great!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups