Logo orange

Myriam Bishop

Flagstaff, AZ, United States

Not Accepting Guests

62% response rate · Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Myriam's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 46 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Icelandic; learning German
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Sharing my passion for outdoors and ...
  • Environment and ecology, outdoor rec...
  • From Valdrôme
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Exploring remote wilderness areas of the world

ABOUT ME

I grew up in France, in the mountains, between Alpes and Provence. I went to college in Grenoble and Nice. Lived in Paris for a few months. Then I travelled a lot of places, most of the time finding a job there to experience it from the inside. I have lived in Iceland, Svalbard (Spitzbergen), Colorado, Alaska, Mauritania (Sahara), Iceland again for 6 years, and now Flagstaff... We also stayed for several weeks in Australia, New-Zealand, Hawaii and Western States I am not a city person, I really need fresh air and nature and wilderness around me, mountains preferred!

PHILOSOPHY

Life is too short to waste time. Live your dreams, don't get stuck in a routine or habits. Step in the unknown to discover yourself.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host people when I can and answer their questions.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Really great! Love to travel through my guests when I can't travel myself.

Interests

All outdoor activities (hiking, back-packing, skiing, biking, climbing, caving, kayaking, snow-shoeing...) I love learning about new places and new languages. I enjoy also taking it easy at home, handknitting and other handcrafts. I love circus arts and am sensible to most other kinds of art.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Besides sea-kayaking in Svalbard, handling dogs in Alaska, bicycling from Alaska to Colorado, and surviving a 5 months experience in Mauritania, I am amazed by diversity and wonders on the planet as well as terrifyed by how it has turned bad in many ways, the power of media and lack of criticism of the mass...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help in languages, nature science and outdoors. Also handknitting, cooking a few Icelandic specialities (or from Provence). I can also teach how to juggle...

Countries I've Visited

Australia, French Guiana, Greenland, New Zealand

Countries I've Lived In

France, Mauritania, Norway, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Myriam's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile