Rachel Novak's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Fire Dancer, Dive Master, and Pharmacist
  • Doctor of Pharmacy
  • From OR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a pharmacist and professional fire dancer, mermaid, and sailor. I'm currently headed to Israel to train freediving in the Red Sea! If you want to learn more about me, I do have a diving and arts vlog called The Sailing Siren (https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=the+sailing+siren)

My hobbies include freediving, skydiving, scuba diving, ultimate frisbee, rock climbing, mountaineering, acro yoga, slacklining, backpacking, dancing, fire dancing, object manipulation (hoop, poi, staves, rope dart, fire suns, fans, fire eating), running, and riding my bike everywhere.

Things I'm working to improve: French and Spanish language skills, surfing, learning ukulele, drawing, and free diving skills.

I was working as a pharmacist in Seattle by day and a freelance circus artist/stunt person by night, and I'm hoping to pick up gigs along the way as a performer to get involved in the artist community in each place.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am currently using this platform to meet rock climbers, sailors, circus performers, divers, and generally active people.

Interests

  • dancing
  • capoeira
  • ballroom dancing
  • running
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • skydiving
  • basketball
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • parkour
  • freediving
  • biking
  • ultimate frisbee
  • acroyoga
  • acrobatics
  • fire dancing

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: I tend to go for action movies or comedies. If the movie has both, it's golden. V for Vendetta is my favorite movie and I watch it every November 5th. I can recite the entire monologue of the alliteration of V's.

Favorite Music: Stuff I can dance to. Some of my faves include Alex Cruz, Nordvolk, Mimi Love, Nombe, Chick & Dick, Aeroplane, Jeff Sontag, and the Weeknd.

Books: I'm currently on a non-fiction/how-to kick. My books lately have involved pharmacy, scuba diving, free diving, French, drawing, and sailing. I have quite a few books that I'm looking forward to reading on the longer ocean passages.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sailed across the Pacific, held a human brain in my hands, road tripped from Michigan to Oregon and back and running an hour and a half in every state (until I sprained my ankle), camped out at Stonehenge on solstice, seen dolphins illuminated by bioluminescent plankton so they looked like glowing ghosts, slept in an abandoned castle in Austria overlooking the Danube, tried to sneak onto the Inca Trail without a guide.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd like to learn: free diving, improve group skydiving formation skills, French, Spanish, drawing skills, surfing

Regarding teaching, I love breaking down concepts into understandable tidbits! If you want to learn about medications, juggling, running technique, freediving, ultimate frisbee, spinning poi, dance or more, just ask. I'm a very open person.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Freediving, fire dancing, hiking, and climbing.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belize, Canada, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Philippines, Slovakia, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Thailand, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.

My Groups