Logo orange

Maya Tobias

New York, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maya's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Hebrew (modern), Portuguese, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • traveler
  • graduated from Washington University...
  • From Da Burgh (aka Pittsburgh, PA, home of Heinz Ketchup) USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Figure out which city I'm going to move to next. Know anyone hiring in Brazil?

ABOUT ME

When I was 8 my piano teacher told me she was going to have to stick me to the piano bench with a piece of gum because I couldn't sit still for our half hour lesson. I haven't been able to sit still since.

Over the past year, since graduating from university, I have worked at a summer camp on the southern coast of spain, worked various jobs in tel aviv, (fish restaurant, cell phone store, sushi chef, online casino, research institute), and traveled in spain, portugal, morocco, france, israel, india, egypt, and jordan.

Now I live in a glorious 3 br apt in the heart of the East Village in New York and work at a small marketing company.

PHILOSOPHY

You only waste time by sleeping.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm interested in hosting people on my couch! But I've never done it before. I also want to find out about CS parties in nyc.

Interests

traveling, jewelry, social justice, food, particularly delicious food, ending global poverty, nice friends, creative friends, most of all fun friends, all-nighters, practicing other languages, adventures, new things, colorful patterns

Music, Movies & Books

Books: Salman Rushdie, Tom Robbins, Arundhati Roy, Jonathan Safron Foer...any book that I read and ask myself: "how did they come up with that?"

Music: lots of stuff from Canada, like Metric, New Pornographers, Stars

Movies: Wet Hot American summer, though in general I don't watch that many movies because I usually think there is something I would rather be doing with two hours of my day than sit in a dark movie theater

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Driving across the Sinai desert in five hours. It took the Israelites 40 years!

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belize, Canada, Chile, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Morocco, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Chile, Israel, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maya's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile