Nadine Dyskant-Miller's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nadine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Musician
  • University of Michigan, Music Composition
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To learn about small-scale organic farming, to make music with people, to create and be surrounded in art.

ABOUT ME

I am a recently-graduated musician person and I'm about to give up ties to any one particular place in favor of exploring and learning and farming and playing music and things like that. The main things I will be doing in the next few months include WWOOFing (a sort of organic farm exchange program) near Montréal and touring on the East coast with my Irish/contra-dance/folk/anything-goes band.

I spent the last five years living in Ann Arbor Michigan, where I majored in music composition at the University of Michigan. While I was there, I helped form an experimental performance ensemble (our most recent project was an experimental ambient choir performance) and the aforementioned Irish/contradance/folk/anything-goes band, and I also spent some time working at the coolest place on earth: Argus Farm Stop, a kind of year-round farmer's market dedicated to selling all local food (as well as some artisan things). The experience there has really confirmed my drive to spend a lot of time farming over the next year, and soon I want to grow as much of my own food as possible.

PHILOSOPHY

To notice and appreciate the small wonderful things that happen all the time: someone is whistling right now, ice is so intricate, and we can sing anytime we want.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I am only on the traveling end of things as I don't have a place of my own, but I would love to be able to host sometime soon!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
A couple of years ago a friend and I roadtripped to Austin and San Antonio, and we stayed with two wonderful people there. I also couchsurfed while I was visiting colleges in Madison, Montréal, Ann Arbor, and Potsdam NY.

Interests

Contra dancing, traditional Irish and Québecois music, organic farming and sustainable living, photography, jewelry making, dance improvisation, elaborate board games, snow.

  • arts
  • singing
  • performing arts
  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • board games
  • traveling
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

I tend to love a lot of random things, but here's a bit of a list of the things I can think of today:

Movies: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Benny and Joon, The East, The Runaway Jury, The Three Idiots, Samsara, any Hitchcock movie.

Music: The Mountain Goats, Tune-Yards, Tallest Man on Earth, Anaïs Mitchell, The Cat Empire, Talking Heads, Dar Williams, Väsen, The Shins, Simon and Garfunkel, Mad Caddies, Genticorum, La Bottine Souriante, Nightingale

Books/Authors: Braiding Sweetgrass, anything by Barbara Kingsolver (especially Animal Vegetable Miracle and Animal Dreams), Bridge of Birds, Wendell Berry, Tamora Pierce, Margaret Atwood,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sitting on the ridge of a mountain in the Alps with my brother and hearing the sounds of cowbells drifting from the valley.

Teach, Learn, Share

Music and jewelry making (especially chain maille). I love to cook and want to learn to make all kinds of things.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you tunes from Ireland, Scotland, and Québec, and I can do some bicycle maintenance.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, Canada, Croatia, France, India, Mexico, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nadine’s full profile. It’s free!