Samantha Veıtch

falmouth, cornwall, ENG

Samantha Veıtch

falmouth, cornwall, ENG

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha’s full profile. It’s free!


  • contemporary craft student and van dweller......
  • No education listed
  • From Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


to bring a bit of focus into my life and ground in one place for a while....the biggest challenge for an adventurous sagittarius!! So just finished first year of my Contemporary Craft degree where I have been casting and fusing glass, hand building and slip casting ceramic and knocking together bits of salvaged wood and metal to make nostalgic items/toys. Interested more and more in making sacred , meditative spaces/installations- alters, meditation pods/areas.

I try and bring presence into my life and see the lessons in situations that arise. Be joyful and grateful... life is wonderful after all! I have just returned from the Americas where I guess I would say my eyes were opened and my heart began to recognise spirit in all. We are one.


Trust in life and love

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have stayed with many people now all over the world and its been a great thing to get involved with. I have hosted a couple of times in the yurt but its usually a bit tricky as I'm in and out so much.


Wow! I have had some great experiences! So much kindness!


Making things especially out of natural materials or second hand/salvaged /scavenged 'rubbish'. My yurt frame is made from johnson grass- an invasive bamboo-like species that grows everywhere along the coast in Portugal. I like to sew and have started making willow baskets. I love photography but my SLR recently took a dive into the sea so stuck with compact at the mo :( Painting too.
Also- tiny houses, self-build dwellings, permaculture, veg growing, Mushrooms!, the sea, woodlands, trees! hiking, hitching, ambitious crazy travelling plans!!

Music, Movies, and Books

Fur. Lolıta. Requiem for a Dream. Big Fish. Equilibrium. Fear and Loathing. Blow. Scarface. Lock Stock. Star Wars. Romeo and Juliet. Amores Perros. Y Tu Mama Tambien. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Clockwork Orange. The Labrınth. Pans Labrinth. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (original). Little Miss Sunshine. Moonrise Kingdom. Electric Children. Volver. Secretary. Spirited Away. Princess Mononokee. My Neighbour Totoro. Ponyo. Ghibli in general! Run Lola Run. Edward Scissorhands. The Invincibles. Finding Nemo.

Bonobo, Natty, Caravan Palace, Of Monsters and Men, Prodigy, Radiohead, Muse, Queens of the Stone Age, Crooked Vultures, Stones, Blur, The Bluetones, Joy Division, Placebo, The Doors, The Stones, Amadou and Mariam, Junior Marvin, Black Uhuru, The Raveonettes, Regina Spector, The Dresden Dolls, Alanis, Tina T, Gabs, 90's music! Elastica, Alisha'a Attic, Pulp, The Verve,
Raving to D & B, Hardcore, Trance, Dubstep,
Chilling out to Dub, Reggae and tings

Life of Pye. Jesus Weed. Sahara. Magic Bus. Virgin Suicides. Im with the Band. Valley of the Kasbahs. Alais Grace. Roots. The Handmaids Tale. Oryx and Crake. Thousand Splendid Suns. Purple Hibiscus. Trainspotting. Filth. On the Road. Peter Hamilton-epic!. The Woodland Way. Mycelium Running.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelled from the UK to Hawaii with no flights- just boats, buses and cars....most hitchhiked. took almost 2 years---was not exactly a linear path:)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can grow things! Let me help you start your edible garden.
Permaculture ideas
Yurt making?
Sewing- I have patched and mended alot of clothing for hosts!

What I Can Share with Hosts

tasty raw/vegan dishes (raw pie!), although i can cook too!
sparkly conversations re: life, the helpful nature of the universe, going with the flow and trusting what comes your way.....

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Laos, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups