Logo orange

Cat Duval

Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires City, Argentina

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cat's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 36 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Nomad, party promotor, freelance wri...
  • (French) Baccalaureat L: Literature/...
  • From Ottawa/ Philly/Montreal/Paris/Marseille (I told you.. a nomad!)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to see, live, learn and love... as much as possible!

ABOUT ME

I'm a nomad since birth, I've moved around so many times I've lost track.. I've lived in a few different cities and countries, presently I live in Buenos Aires.. I was "houseless" for a few years in Europe.. I was living between squatts, under bridges, friends´ couches, train stations (and trains!), and sometimes lucky enough to benefit from the kindness of friends and strangers alike.. my adventures (and non-adventures) have taught me how to use my hands, juggle, make random crap and use my charm to get by - but I do it all pretty badly :) I write about my travels and the people I´ve met on these journeys through life are an inspiration to me. I try to live off of my work while on the road and as long as I have my pack and my thumb odds are one of these days you'll bump into me barefoot walking down a dirt road, with my dog Naira in tow, smiling.

PHILOSOPHY

do what you're afraid of and pick up, pack up and go!

A trucker who picked me up in the middle of a ghost town in the Oregon desert once told me "if you can't repay someone's kindness directly, help someone in your situation instead".

aka: empathy is always the best policy.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I can maybe lend a couch, cook you dinner, show you the heart, soul and dirty underbelly of Buenos Aires (throw your guidebooks away), introduce you to awesome people, party with you, be a friend.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Throughout my travels, without using CS, I was lucky to have met locals who lent me a place to pitch up my hammock or lend me a bed, cook me a warm meal. I had signed up for CS thinking I would use it while travelling through Latin America, but had forgotten I had an account until I actually moved to Buenos Aires.

So now that I have a roof over my head, I´ve hosted a few people and I find that the people who come through here are great.. !!

Interests

Travelling, languages (3 mastered and portuguese is on the way!), writing, hitchhiking/train hopping/getting there on a dime, ethnic studies, anthropology and culture in general, TAZ, free parties, body modification, cooking, literature... and I want to learn the stuff you can teach me!

Music, Movies & Books

I mostly listen to tekno (in all of its forms), reggaeton (what can I say.. it grows on you), latin beats (cumbia, salsa, samba, bachata, merengue etc), bluegrass, french folk music, and whatever i grew up listening to (it´s a very big and varied list).. But I'll listen to anything!

I like Bukowski and Vian and Cucurto and Sartre, Kerouac and London and Beigbeder and Nothomb.. Books are the only possession I really consider to be important (and yet, I "liberate" books very often). I'll read whatever you put in my hands, and I'll watch most movies.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

it´s hard to say just one.. so here are a few that describe who I am:

- From 2001 until 2004, I squatted, hitchhiked and train hopped all over Europe.

- I went to the first rave on the Great Wall of China in 2001.. amazing to see it under those circumstances, the sunrise was incredible.

- In 2007, I travelled approximately 30,000 km - I did a good bit of South America on thumb, foot and some bus. Upon returning to Montréal, my former home, realized my heart belonged to Latin America.. so I crossed the country to fruit pick and then hitchhiked from Vancouver to Mexico City with 1.50$ and my dog.

- I´ve crossed Canada in 4 days with my thumb and my smile :)

- I´ve woken up in different places over the years, watched the sunrise and I can remember each and every one of them.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm open to all exchange... Life lessons, language lessons, cooking lessons..

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Canada, China, France, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Cat's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile