Nate Shaw's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nate’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Haitian, Haitian Creole, Spanish
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • No occupation listed
  • Cinéma
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Feel free to ask me to host, I haven't got a request for months!

I am a student and an aspiring filmmaker. I like to be able to get access to meet locals and the way they live. My first travels were in Peru and Haiti with locals I knew beforehand, who toured me through their country, that was before I knew of couchsurfing, but already I was attracted to discovering local cultures.

Now, I would like to try and host a little more, though, I'm a student, henceforth I don't always have a lot of time, but I try to host whenever I can, so please write me if you are coming to Montréal and think we'll bond.

Food: I am vegetarian (I will not buy meat, but I will eat some if I am served, for the sake of not wasting it!) I am also in the process of trying to give up all animal products. I love tasty food, strong beer and good liquor. Oh and I am a hot sauce fanatic!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Alternative and unconventionnal ways of travelling.

Sharing with strangers.

Interests

I love arts, all of them, I also enjoy the outdoors, sports like biking. I bike all the time wherever I have to go whatever the weather, in the snow or -30C I dont care. I love nature, I have worked in the forest for many summers. I also enjoy cooking a lot, I have worked alot as a line cook in restaurants. I'm a big music fan, pretty much all styles, I am always into going to live shows. I do street photography as well, mostly on 35 mm film. All this said, my passion is Cinema, thats what I study, its what I love and what I would like to do for the rest of my life!

I like to hang out in small local bars with live shows, where people are open minded and willing to connect. I am mostly interested in arts, I also enjoy the outdoors and cooking and baking bread and like to learn anything about nature and agriculture.

  • arts
  • culture
  • photography
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • food
  • cinema
  • nature
  • craft beer

Music, Movies, and Books

Artists I really like:

Music : Chapelier Fou, Igorrr, Ibrahim Maalouf, Chet Baker, Fela Kuti, Leo Kottke, Kendrick Lamar, Miles Davis, Nomadic Massive, Gogol Bordello, Parno Graszt, The Cat Empire, Bruce Cockburn, Yussef Kamaal, Winston Mcanuff & Fixi, etc........ Basically any good music of pretty much all different styles. I try also to listen to local music the most I can, because there aint no thing like a live show!

Movies: Any independent author movies will interest me. I can't stand Hollywood, commercial and industrial movies. I am also interested in Film History, I often go to the Cinematheque.
Some flmmakers I like:
Benh Zeitlin, Abbas Kiarostami, Jafar Panahi, Jonas Mekas, Stefan Uher, Vera Chytilova, Pedro Costa, Emir Kusturica, Johan Van Der Keuken, Jim Jarmush, Michel Brault, Pierre Perreault, Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, Luis Bunuel, Milos Forman, Jiri Menzel, Fellini, Antonioni, Vittorio DeSeta, Tsai Ming Liang, Wong Kar Wai, Jean Rouch, Bruno Dumont, Rati Onelli, Michka Saal, Gilles Groulx, Konchalovsky, Nanni Moretti, Chris Marker, etc.

Books .. there are so many .. I can't say what I like most. I read from essays and philosophy to history books to litterature and poetry.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Shooting a movie in Haiti with people who don't speak the same language as me. If language isnt a barrier, then what is?

Teach, Learn, Share

We can share a meal. Go to live music shows, plays. Have a crazy musical jam. Watch a movie, have a conversation, read poetry, you name it!

Languages are also always fun to learn and teach. I speak and write fluently in French and English, and I am a beginner in Spanish, I would like to learn Czech and Haitian Creole as well!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Smiles, hugs, good vibes.
I can cook if you want, make dishes, help with the house or whatever, I see couchsurfing as an exchange and so whatever I can do to help.

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Germany, Haiti, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Slovakia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Nate’s full profile.