Nathan Guyer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 82% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nathan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 24 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Japanese, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • College Graduate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up most of my life in the western United States: lots of time in Oregon, Utah and California. I just recently moved to Japan and hoping to explore as much as possible, but also be settled enough to host fellow travellers. I love travelling and have enjoyed being a part of the Couch Surfing community during a few trips abroad, and one killer road trip across the U.S. Now I'm staying local for a little while, working, and would love to give back and host or hang out. I'm always in search of a good adventure and experience to explore. I'm easy going and tolerant with other people/cultures and just enjoy discovering new exciting things about the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To share cultures in a way that is authentic and learn about new people, places and ways of life!

Interests

I love the outdoors and take advantage of every opportunity I have to hike, climb, camp, ski, bike etc.
I have my SCUBA certification so and love to dive as much as possible.
My artsy outlet is wood turning.
I also really enjoy service work and volunteering to help local and international causes.
Of course, love to travel and never get out enough.

  • causes
  • dining
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • bungee jumping
  • skiing
  • sports
  • soccer
  • track and field
  • neuroscience
  • volunteering
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a pretty easily pleased person and can be entertained by anything. However, in general I tend to not be super knowledgeable when it comes to pop-culture related topics (not to say I'm not interested and willing to learn). That being said, I love nonfiction books and movies that tell true stories passionate people and their adventures like Born to Run, No Shortcuts to the Top and Love Does, to name a variety.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Getting my black belt in Tae Kwon Do.
Summiting Mt. Kilimanjaro
Bungee Jumping in Costa Rica
Scuba Diving in Tahiti
Seeing the northern lights in Sweden
United States cross country road trip

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an incredibly curious person and can spend any number of hours questioning about cultures, hobbies, food, you name it, I love to learn. I graduated with a degree in Public Health so always enjoy an interesting exchange about world affairs. I spent a year abroad before university and can share stories from rural villages in Africa, bullet trains in Switzerland and youth summer camps in Nicaragua. I also have a strong passion for the outdoors: I love learning, sharing and teaching about everything from techniques and strategy in the mountains/nature to simple experiences of getting out and enjoying the fresh air. Maybe teach you how to sail or surf?

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would like to think that I'm an easy guest to host. I'm flexible and tolerant of different people and lifestyles. I can be independent when I need to, but also enjoy the company of fellow travelers. I'm not an expert cook, but if you're willing to share a meal with me, I'm more than happy to put something together. Although my stays are probably very short, I honestly want to help out in any way that I can, so if there are any random chores/errands that I can contribute to help earn my stay, let me know.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Israel, Italy, Kuwait, Lebanon, Malawi, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bahrain, India, Japan, Scotland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nathan’s full profile.

My Groups