Nathan Tripp

New York, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nathan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Creole, French, Italian, Portuguese, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • helping hand
  • unschooler
  • From South Coast, MA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me




Hi! I'm Nathan. :-)

I love fruits and vegetables.. beets, corn, cucumbers, parsnips, potatoes, carrots, collard greens, walnuts, peanuts, pears, beans, beans, beans, sweet peppers, blueberries, onions, peaches, sweet potatoes, cranberries, zucchini, peaches, brussels sprouts, spinach, apples, basil, cabbage, lettuce, melons, kale, tomatoes, peas, winter squash, turnips, grapes, garlic, sunflower seeds, cacao, dates, agave, kiwi, mangoes, mamey, bananas, apples, avocado, coconut, almonds, and oranges!


There's no day but today.
"Let all the world be my friend!"
A smile is the most basic form of peacekeeping.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I love to welcome people into my home. I try to treat CSers as really good friends that have come to visit me and my city. If it's possible, I like to introduce them to my friends, places in town I think they'd enjoy, and make them or take them out for a meal. That's the experience I've had for the most part with my hosts, so I just want to pay it forward.


Me and my ex-boyfriend Derek hosted a lot of couchsurfers at our home in Providence, RI from June '09 to April '10. I also had the opportunity to host some CSers when I've lived in Miami the past two years. Plus I've couchsurfed all about the U.S., Canada, and Spain -- and one great time in Ireland!


I'm interested in:
moving, such as walking, jumping, skipping, dancing, and biking;

food, such as vegan, Thai, Ethiopian, Ital, and dessert;

studies, such as linguistics, biology, and anthropology;

ways of life, such as anarchism, natural farming (fukuoka), unschooling, honesty, adventure, barefooter, and simplicity;

life forms, such as plants, protists, animals, bacteria, and even some fungi;

and activities, such as going out dancing, listening to others' stories, laying down outside on the ground, drinking wine, reading, taking walks, guerrila gardening, skinnydipping, biking, having picnics, genderfucking, sharing languages, laughing, and getting lost.

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't really have any favorite movies.. I often fall asleep, but it can be nice to watch a movie with friends on a relaxing/rainy evening. I also don't like scary/horror movies; they're just too negative for me!

I love reading nonfiction. My favorite book would probably be the Tao Te Ching.

I listen to popular music.. I'm a fan of 90's dance and R&B. I also use music as a tool to learn about other languages. Right now (Oct. '12) I'm really into Danish music, and I have a bit of a crush on the British singer, Kele.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done


Teach, Learn, Share

My favorite thing to share is language.. I always want to learn more, and of course I'd be happy share anything I know about languages and linguistics. Also, if you have any interest in traveling long-distance by bicycle (especially with very little money), I could give you some information about that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Ireland, Spain, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    14 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Nathan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups