Navine Christian's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Navine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Thai, Xhosa
  • 54, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Business Analyst
  • University degrees
  • From Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To meet interesting, open-minded people who enjoy new experiences, by making a home environment accessible to youth, who stay in Cape Town for long periods

ABOUT ME

Enjoy playing badminton, beachwalking, mountain hikes, listening to music and having interesting discussions. At my age it's becoming more difficult to meet the kind of people I enjoy (born in 1963). I live alone and have never married, have a large family with lots of kids and really enjoy being an uncle. I have great friends here and abroad.....and quite frankly their kids are also like my own nephews and nieces ...I have never been lonely in South Africa or Asia. I like cooking from time to time, especially when Ihave guests.... then we do meals together....and get fat!

PHILOSOPHY

I'm a heart person but use my brain when I'm forced to. I am not closed to physical interaction, depending on how well we get along.
I like to relax alot .. alot ..... life's is about enjoyment, not stress.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I run Navine's Homestay, which is one of my business ventures ; accordingly I do not offer free accommodation and attempt to be helpful in other ways. My natural style is to help foreign visitors to understand Cape Town, the local culture, the transport systems, the food (yum!) and just general self-discovery.
I can be intellectual and have an easy lifestyle ; these days I prefer ordinary conversation, although I do help alot with understanding the history of South Africa ; I regularly play South Africa movies for visitors ; this is always very interesting, sometimes funny, and often very emotional.
There are times however, when company is welcome, including intimate company. I am fascinated by the cultures of Africa, especially since all of Africa is now free to travel in my country. But then again, Asian cultures also grab me, it amazes me how different people construct different social worlds. I always ask visitors to book through travelling websites in order to confirm that they will visit. I have found that this encourages mutual responsibility and respect, and all couchsurfers who have lived in my home, agree with my approach.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

With all Couch Surfers who have visited, I have helped them to keep their costs down, especially those who stay for longer periods to learn English. My home is conducive to people who want to experience the local culture or learn English Language at the nearby home school. Because this is a business, it is not free but your stay will reduce the cost of your visit significantly, in a manner which is very comfortable and safe. If you would like to stay with me you would use public transport to get around, which in itself is an experience (really)! If you enjoy nightlife, then you will need to hire a car (or use my taxi guy)so that you can go out late at night. I have a dedicated driving service who will offer you fair deals to get around ; and when three of you share the cost.... it becomes very affordable.

Interests

Love watching Rafael Nadal playing tennis and am delighted that he is starting to win again, even in small tournaments, after injury. Federer and Tsonga are also great to watch .... Djokovic irritates me but I admire his athleticism. Amazed that Nadal is once again Number 1 in tennis.
Enjoy competing at badminton... but slowing down at a rate of knots (!!!)
Nature.. great.
Good music, jazz, classical... other, depends on my mood.
Execllent food and cooking together.. now there's something nice...

  • culture
  • books
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • nightlife
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • jazz
  • hiking
  • tennis
  • badminton
  • business
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

I read mostly non-fiction. My style is conceptual rather than detailed.... I can talk business development anytime and am interested in how ordinary people make a living. I love sci-fi, Battlestar Galactica, Star Trek, Star Gate etc etc ... just a big kid really! Love big tennis matches .....in fact big football matches too...but then it has to be finals or World Cup. Music: Jazz fusion ... but local music also expresses cultures, so I am happy to enjoy different types.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Yes there are ... but words won't do justice to the experiences. Climbing Table mountain is a great experience, visiting temples atop mountains in Thailand has been amazing, kayaking through limestone islands ion the Andaman sea ...amazing .... as is driving through the lonely Namibian desert for days.... seeing nothing but deflated rocks.....St Peter's Cathedral in Rome (if there was a God, She would live there!).... the Gu Chi tunnels in Vietnam ...Boating doen the Mekong River in Laos, living in Chiang Mai for periods......but mostly running my own business here, in Education Management development and Business Development. It's a great life!

Teach, Learn, Share

We can learn from anybody, I do. Possibly my biggest learnings have come from the children. I am happy to share my knowledge of South Africa, my world view and experiences. This may include cooking together and if I can find ingredients, do something South African. I also used to play lots of badminton and while I can still do so... perhaps I am better off teaching the game than competing.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would like to pay my hosts for accommodation because I am business man. That is how I think.... I'm not into freebies... and I am into humanity. I have an open attitude to most things in life, religion, sexuality, culture etc. My golden rule is: in life you can do anything you want, provided you don't hurt anybody.

The world offers possibility...... let's explore that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, India, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Mauritius, Namibia, Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Navine’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups