Daniel Nemeth's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 83% response rate
  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 188 references 167 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Hungarian; learning French, Portuguese
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Cartographer
  • Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest: Urban Development BSc...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

FIRST OF ALL: I know that I wrote a lot on my profile and I know that sometimes travelers are in rush and have no time to go through such a long text. And that's completely fine, there is no hidden keyword that you should include in your request. However, for your own comfort, I suggest quickly scrolling though the "home" section and reading a few references.

And now about me:

I'm Dániel Németh, a 30 years old, open-minded guy from Hungary. I used to study geography in Budapest, then I lived in Scandinavia and volunteered in Africa. Then I took some months off to hitchhike from Bangkok to Kazakhstan and then I started my studies in Utrecht, the Netherlands. I studied sustainable development, during which program, I spent a month doing research in Bangladesh. I graduated in 2020, and that was also the year when I moved to Bordeaux, France. Wherever I live, I always prefer to travel between that place and my home country, Hungary via hitchhiking.

I'm addicted to traveling, I am interested in everything that it includes: looking at maps and planning a journey, reading about history, learning a few phrases in a new language, being outdoors, trying different types of food and most of all meeting interesting people. As a real addict, I use all my money and time to travel. When I have a little time, I travel in my own city, discovering new streets. If I have a couple of days, I go for a short hitchhiking trip around or go camping in the nature. And then when I have longer time, I travel far and discover distant countries and continents.

PHILOSOPHY

"Give every day the chance to become the most beautiful day in your life. " Mark Twain

My life goal is very simple, yet takes a whole life to achieve:
I want to see the honest interest on the face of my grandchildren, when I tell them my crazy stories. So what do I need for this?

A) Crazy stories
B) Family
C) Mental and physical health: to live long enough to see my grandchildren, to be able to talk to them and to remember my stories

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting and surfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I only had positive ones :)

Interests

I like hiking, climbing, jogging, cycling and learning about the world. I also like geography, I care about environment. Sustainability has a very central role in my way of thinking, I am minimalist in my everyday life. I work as a freelance cartographer, using GIS to create amazing maps.

I find speaking with people from different cultures, and different places of the earth very interesting.

I can stare at maps for hours without getting bored, also I am a little bit addicted of creating my own extremly detailed travels maps with a tiny GPS device that I always have with me. This way I can look back to trips that I made 5 years ago in some distant continents and see exactly what streets did I take or what was my average waiting time when hitchhiking. It's like to scratch maps some people have in their bedrooms, but a lot more detailed and filled with tons of memories.

I don't support economic growth (but I am open for debate).

  • arts
  • environment
  • blogging
  • minimalism
  • cartography
  • geography
  • geopolitics
  • journalism
  • cultures
  • fun
  • sustainability
  • maps
  • humour
  • gis
  • tight-budget travel

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Only one? Impossible...

- Climbed on Grossglockner

- Travelled for 2 weeks without using any form of money

- Slept outside in a desert

- Gave interview for radios , for TVs and for blogs. Wrote some articles to newspapers too.

- Saw the northern light and the midnight sun

- Run a Marathon

- Celebrated the Kurdish new year in Diyarbakir right after I got released by the Turkish special forces who suspected me to be a Kurdish spy

- Saw the Mt. Vesuvius smoking

- Took Mauritania's iron ore train through the Sahara, sitting on the top of the iron ore for 16 hours

- Got lost for 10 minutes in the North Korean capital, where I asked locals on the street for the direction back to my group

- Crossed the polar circle and the Greenwitch line

- Volunteered in Siberia and in Africa

- Danced with refugees and with North Korean university students

- Walked on the Great Wall of China

- Got into the closed garden of Versailles

- Slept in a public toilet

- Dishwashed for free food in the world's northernmost church.

- Survived a close meeting with a bear in the Carpathians, with a scropion in the Sahara and slept in a Bulgarian forest without tent while the wolves were howling

- Hitchhiked in -21°C and in 47°C

- Floated on the Dead-Sea

- Celebrated my birthday in a country only recognized by 6 countries

- Invented a new sport

- Hitchhiked a boat to a russian ghost-town and paid by Hungarian saussages (good deal if you ask me)

- Crossed West Africa alone without being able to speak more than 25 French words

- Found love thanks to Covid

- Met a lot of nice people around the world!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some Hungarian words (crazy language) and some cultural-historical aspects of my country.
I would like to learn every interesting details about the cultures places and peoples of the earth.
I can share my experiences about them.

What I Can Share with Hosts

What I usually say when hosts tell me "feel at home" is that to do so you will need to let me participate in the housework too. I will be happy to help you with anything (cleaning, cooking, doing the dishes) that you might need while I stay with you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Hong Kong, India, Iraq, Israel, Italy, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, North Korea, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Åland Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Guinea-Bissau, Hungary, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

My Groups