Logo orange

Neus Pla

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Neus's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 26 Positive References
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, French, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Web Designer / Arts Manager
  • Art History, Arts Administration & W...
  • From Alcoi (Spain)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To keep discovering the world even if I'm not traveling! :)

ABOUT ME

I'm from Spain and enjoy traveling and living abroad. I've been living in different countries (France, Niger, UK) and I moved to Canada in 2010 to work in Ottawa. In 2012 I moved to Montreal and went back to school to study web design.

I studied History of Art and Arts Administration and I've been working in museums and organizing cultural events (concerts, film festivals, theatre and dance).

I am a very social person, I like to hang out with friends and keep myself active. What else? I'm musician (I play saxophone) and l like learning new foreign languages. Je parle aussi français!

PHILOSOPHY

I'm passionate about everything and try to enjoy the moment (Carpe diem)... we just live once so I try to make my best of it!! I'm a dreamer and sometimes I should put more often my feed back on the ground. I enjoy Nikos Kazantzakis' philosophy about life. He has amazing quotes like "I hope for nothing. I fear nothing. I am free" or "A person needs a little madness, or else they never dare cut the rope and be free".

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'd like to meet people living in Montreal and from other countries who are traveling around Canada. I'd like to discover the American continent so I think the CS project is a very nice idea.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I joined CS two years ago when I came to Canada and I've met a lot of interesting people through this website. I've hosted people from different nationalities at my place in Ottawa and I also have good friends in Ottawa and Montreal (and other cities!) who I met thanks to CS.

Interests

Music, cinema, art, dancing salsa and swing, traveling, learning languages, skating, snowboarding and skiing, swimming.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Le Fabuleux Destin D'Amelie Poulain, In the Mood for Love, Le Fate ignoranti, The Secret Life of Words, Life of Brian.

Music: Vinicius de Moraes, Joaquín Sabina, Amy Winehouse, Jamiroquai, Manu Chao, Goran Bregovic, The Doors, Serge Gainsbourg, Lluis Llach, Eleftheria Arvanitaki, Jacques Brel, Claude Debussy, Camille Saint Saens, Eric Satie, George Gershwin, Miles Davis, Arturo Sandoval, Maceo Parker.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

- Whitewater rafting in the Ottawa river (2011) - I visited one of my dream destinations: Cuba (2011) - I played in a 800 saxophones band in London UK (2009) - I lived 5 months in Niger (Africa) without internet and many commodities (2007) - I travelled by train through Europe for one month with an interrail pass. (2002) - I've seen the Pyramids and the Abu Simbel temple in Egypt (2001)

visited 22 states (9.77%)

Teach, Learn, Share

I've studied Art History so I have a good knowledge about museums and artists, but to be honest if my knowledge in North American art is quite limited (if some day I lived again in Paris I'll be able to explain you all the Louvre paintings hehe). My native language is Spanish so I also can offer a language exchange. I also play saxophone, if you play any instrument we could also jam together!

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Belgium, Cuba, Egypt, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Turkey, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, France, Niger, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Neus's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile