Nicholas Wong's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicholas’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • English Literature & Philosophy
  • From Singapore, Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! I originate from Singapore, and am currently reading English Literature/Philosophy as an undergraduate at the National University of Singapore!

Right now however, I am currently on exchange for a semester at University College Dublin in Ireland (Jan 2015-June 2015)!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

After having traveled to a few places with some of my close friends, I thought of giving solo-travelling a shot! And hearing many good things about Couchsurfing from friends who had done so, I thought that it would be an interesting way to both travel alone as well as meet new people! Whilst on on hand, having close companionship on trips is comforting, there are times that I really do want to get immersed in the life of the places I visit, and I guess Couchsurfing is one of the really good solutions for that!

Interests

Some people say that they travel to see the world, but what I seek is to learn more about the world. While I do enjoy marveling at scenic landscapes or seeing new sights in my travels, my main interest is to really learn about the many different perspectives of life that this world has!

I'm someone who is passionate to simply learn more about the lives of others and broaden my admittedly narrow perspective of the world. It is one thing read or watch a film in the comforts of your home about the daily lives of someone who lives at the opposite half of the world from you, but it is another to really go up close and experience it for yourself with all your senses, or even listen to someone else share their first-hand experiences with you!

I am quite an adventurous eater(I also do enjoy cooking, though am not a very good chef!) as well, so tasting other cultures is something I am really keen on! Plus I am an avid craft beer drinker, and so I would love learning about all the different kinds and styles of beer, one pint at a time!

I am also a pretty strong Catholic who dabbles in a fair bit of theology, and am always open to discuss about that! I would like to consider myself a well-read person(especially when it comes to knowledge of the humanities), though I admit there is so much still to learn and study about the world.

Combine all that above and you'll find me as a person who enjoys chilling at pubs, engaging in long and enriching conversations with a good pint in hand.

  • culture
  • humanities
  • literature
  • cooking
  • beer
  • pub crawls
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • divinity

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm not much of a music connoisseur, soft rock is always a go-to genre for me.

I can't think of a -favourite- movie at the top of my head, but I always had a weak-spot for romantic movies.

Books, now that is a list that I can go on for hours! To make it short; my favourite author right now is Dickens(I'm quite a boring classicist), but I do enjoy reading poetry as well, and a few of my notable favourites are Geoffrey Hill and Gerard Manley Hopkins.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This might sound a bit cliche, but I guess the most amazing thing that I have ever done so far is really say "yes" to travelling. A few years ago, you asked me about going travelling outside of home, I would have given you a flat no. I enjoyed my habits, patterns and the comfortable repetition of my life at home, always casually joking that "I'd see the world when I get the time". But thanks to a few nudges by a friend who was really keen getting out of our tiny island, I have really made that first jump, learned so much from my experiences and really grown from it. And there is still much more room for me to grow!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm no musician or craftsman or artist in any form, and all I have to offer is my own experiences and perspectives! As mentioned above, I would love to learn all about your lifestyles and your culture, and in return I hope to share with you a bit of what I have experienced and learned in my own life!

What I Can Share with Hosts

A different perspective and insight from another part of the world, and hopefully a few days of fun and good cheer as well!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Poland, Scotland, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicholas’s full profile. It’s free!