Nicolas Shortfield's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 42% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicolas’s full profile.


  • 3 references
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Translator and writer
  • Master's in English
  • From Vernon, Eure, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've been meaning to rewrite this for a while since it's a bit old now. I'm French and after spending about 5 years traveling I somehow ended up settling in Valencia. Sometimes you discover a place and you don't feel the need to keep moving anymore and this is that place for me, at least for now!

I've lived in the US, Canada, Scotland, France and now Spain. I speak French, English and Spanish and I haven't given up on the idea of learning a fourth language soon. I discovered Couchsurfing about 9 years ago and met a lot of great people through the app and had memorable adventures with a few of them. I have surfed and hosted a bit, but to me it's mostly a way to meet other people with a traveling mindset.

Otherwise, I love photography, books, sports and boardgames...and of course traveling ! I also organize a few events including a pub quiz, so if you pass by Valencia, come and say hi!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to meet people with different cultural backgrounds and people who like to travel as well.


  • books
  • movies
  • board games
  • juggling
  • languages
  • language exchange
  • living abroad
  • french
  • french culture
  • teaching english
  • teaching french

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moved to Scotland after watching a documentary on trains in that country. It looked like an amazing place and so I decided to spend a few months there.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you french! I was a teacher for years :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a couch that turns into a bed that I can offer for a few days but the flat isn't big.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, England, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Réunion, Scotland, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicolas’s full profile.