Nick Lhomme's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 60% response rate
  • Last login about 20 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nick’s full profile.

Overview

  • 139 references 115 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • until recently hobo... but now back to work ;-)
  • CAD Engineering, then life teaches its lessons!
  • From Percy, Manche, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

April 2024 UPDATE :
We are available to host :-)

We have finished our 2 months hiking trip (Pyrenees crossing - 1000+ km) so we are back home and available to host.

In the recent years, I have been backpacking solo in Western Africa, then touring Eastern Europe with my girlfriend Carole in our van, 13 months of travels! Then we've been hoping around : the winter season in Sion Switzerland, French Guyana, French Caribbeans islands (Martinique, Guadeloupe), etc... Upon corona-virus crisis we decided to come back to mainland France, tried to settle in different areas (Saint-Brévin, Bordeaux), and finally landed in the Pyrenees...!!

CURRENT MISSION : enjoy life! Recently quit my job (for the fifth? time).

ABOUT ME :
I am open-minded and Couchsurfing is definitely my main way meeting people.
For the past 15 years, everytime I moved to a new place, I couchsurfed for a few weeks before getting my own place, to get a good idea of the city, its surroundings, and its people. Great way to meet many cool folks in a short time period and sometimes ends up in long-lasting friendship!

I like to discover nice places, whether in a city or in the countryside. I like to hang out and party as much as I enjoy hiking, seeing wildlife and stunning landscapes.

I am also supposedly nice and fun ;-P
But hey, read my references, and you'll get a better idea! :-D

PHILOSOPHY
Carpe Diem - life is too short not to enjoy it !!
Don't think and plan too much for the future, you might be dead by then… Do it now instead while you can!!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I have both surfed and hosted quite a lot of fellow travellers.
Also, I sometimes host "on the spot" some non-official couchsurfers!
And I do spread the word... a lot!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
My very first official CS experience was in April 2009.
Since then, I surfed many places all across North America, all around Europe, North & West Africa, Australia, and the Caribbeans!
CS is always a great community !!

Interests

I am interested in discovering (almost) everything!
I like the outdoors (hiking, skiing, kayaking, mountain biking, etc), and also motorsports.

I am very social, and I like to exchange stories and ideas around drinks and food, or activities. Getting to know people and discover the spirit of the area is my main goal while Couchsurfing.

I enjoy big cities, big crowds and going out, as much as I love nature, feeling alone in remote places. Outdoors has been growing big on me lately.

  • flying
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • trail running
  • motor sports
  • mountains
  • outdoors
  • motorcycling
  • motocross
  • campervan
  • vanlife
  • backcountry skiing

Music, Movies, and Books

I can listen to almost anything and actually enjoy very different kinds of music, but usually need to switch genres after a few hours.

Movies: I also like many genres, but NOT horror movies: What is the point of scaring yourself??? ;-0

I unfortunately do not read anymore... Not that I don't like it, I actually used to read a lot (long time ago), but I spend much time to meet with friends, going out, travelling, etc... and do not take the time to read. No doubt I will get back into reading at some point though...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

So many… I'll give 3 that come to my mind right now :
1 - I have done a few off-road/desert car races, mostly in Morocco, pretty unique experience!
2 - in 2017, during my trip, I went by mistake on a via-ferrata, by myself and with no equipment… I really thought several times that I was gonna die and wanted to call a rescue helicopter, but there was no network coverage… so I had no other choice but going through all of it. That was fucking intense…!!!
3 - and of course my travels :
2014 : 6 months trip across the USA and Canada
2016 : 3 months trip in South East Australia
2017-2018 : 13 months trip across Western Africa, Northern Europe, Baltics, Eastern Europe, Balkans

visited about 50 countries

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach you how to stand on one leg for 5 seconds, but most people already know how to do that... ;-P

What I Can Share with Hosts

Definitely willing to share a good time! Enjoy having deep and passionate conversations about our world.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, French Guiana, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Luxembourg, Martinique, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, France, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, New Caledonia, Switzerland, United States

Old School Badges

  • 6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Nick’s full profile.

My Groups