Mei and Nienke's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mei and’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning French, Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Student
  • Theology
  • From Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

NOTE: Currently, I am in the US for a semester abroad. Therefore I cannot host guests, sorry!

Hallo! We're two girls (one from the great Netherlands and the other from tiny Singapore) We met during a semester study abroad in the US and have couchsurfed to together during a 12 day trip around the east coast in December.

A little more on each of us:

Nienke- Netherlands

Who are you?
I'm a 20 year-old (sadly, that means no bars :() from a town called Emmen in the Netherlands. This is my first time outside of Europe but definitely not my last! I've travelled to Germany, Belgium, Luxemburg, Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy France and now am proud to add the US to this list.

Why do you travel?
Even though the Netherlands can be fun, most of us (the dutch) have a sense of wanderlust that can't be shaken off. I travel with the purpose of learning about different cultures adopting for even a short period of time, various perceptions. I like nature, taking part in outdoor activities and enjoying all kinds of views.

Mei- Singapore

Who are you?
Hi! I'm Mei (pronounced May like the month) but my full first name's actually Meihui. I'm from a little country called Singapore, one of the few city states in the entire world. Before coming to the states I've been to Taiwan, various parts of China, Malaysia, Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia, Japan, the UK, Hong Kong. This is my first time in the States and I've already taken a 10-day trip to the west coast, from LA- San Fran- Vegas- Nevada- Washington DC and I can't wait for the next trip. I'm fluent in English and Mandarin and am currently doing a Bachelors in Communciations back home in Singapore.

Why do you travel?
Singapore's a reallyyyy small country (we're slightly more than half the size of LA) and its inevitable for us to keep on looking outwards for new experiences and to meet new people. It was only during this semester exchange that I felt the exhilaration of exposing myself to completely new environments. After this trip I'll be embarking on another 3 week journey to Central America with another friend.

That's it from us for now and we're looking forward to meeting you soon!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Like to meet new open minded people and exchange experiences!

Interests

Nienke: Dancing and singing and having good conversations.

Mei: I loooove to cook, as much as I do eat, and I believe wholeheartedly that one of the ways to understand a city or place is through their food! Do let me know if you're interested to try Singaporean food and I'll see what I can do :)

Music, Movies, and Books

Too many!! (Our guilty pleasures are RomComs though)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveling more than 8000km away from home alone to spend 5 months in the United States.

Teach, Learn, Share

We will probably learn from you more than you from us, but nevertheless it'll definitely be a very unique cultural exchange experience (with a Dutch and Singaporean, no less).

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm not sure what we offer but we've both travelled pretty extensively in Europe and Asia respectively and I'm pretty sure we're the only Dutch-Singaporean pair as of now! We're pretty flexible in terms of our itinerary, so we're totally ok with however much or little time you wish to spend with us :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mei and’s full profile. It’s free!