Nihad Talibzada's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nihad’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Azerbaijani, English, Russian, Turkish; learning Dutch, Icelandic
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Computer Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Chase my childhood dreams - Aurora Borealis aka Northern Lights above the Arctic Circle!

ABOUT ME

I am 22 years old and I have been studying IT, Computer Science in Izmir, Turkey for 3 years and now I came to Gent, Belgium for my long-term internship at the field of IT. Previously I studied in Potsdam, Germany for a year and did another summer internship in Zwickau again Germany. Currently, I'm working as a full-time Software Engineering intern in a private startup company in Gent city. I originally come from Azerbaijan which you might be confused about the country or even haven't heard it before :) Basically it locates in Caucasian region (west coast of Caspian Sea) and affected from great civilizations such as Persian and Russian (yeah we drink vodka even at breakfast ). I can narrate a lot about our culture when we meet. I have been living in Turkey due to my studies. I speak fluent Turkish and Russian beside my mother tongue Azerbaijani. Long story short, I have always been interested in getting to know new places, cultures and people. I am sure that CS will help me get to know even more interesting people and countries! :) I also love learning new languages and I am especially interested in latin and north germanic languages. But I always believe that every single language or culture or tradition is unique and supposed to be respected!

PHILOSOPHY

"The world is a book, and those who don`t travel only read a page."
"Less is more, more or less"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sitting in a waiting room killing time reading a magazine, I came across this tiny article about CS. It was love at first sight. Couldn't wait to get home and sign up with a profile. Yeah I made it and was really excited about that. As a consequence I am here with you and LOVE it.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I have only hosted once in Izmir, Turkey and they were Bulgarian couples. They also were speaking Russian so that we managed to exchange many information about our lifestyle and culture. I had definitely amazing experience and impression. I have not been able to do a lot of couchsurfing regarding to my studies and my budget which was not enough to buy tickets and travel around. But NOW, it's time to go crazy and meet some new people via that great, dazzling, unbelievable community :)

Interests

My main interests include sports, especially football and tennis as well as winter sports, information technologies, programming, books (novels), video games, chess (I love it so much), music (I love all kinds but metal is preferred). I feel confident at history and geography so that we can make as much discussions as you want. I did high scores in flag quizes :)

However, ART is not my interest but my life! I'm literally a museum fan. I would die for a master piece of art probably. I'm sick of French 19th century Impressionist art. I could talk about these kind of paintings for hours :)

  • arts
  • books
  • music festivals
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • partying
  • flying
  • movies
  • video games
  • board games
  • chess
  • traveling
  • metal music
  • cycling
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • table tennis
  • world cup
  • art history
  • computer science
  • geography
  • history
  • solo travel
  • football
  • reading books
  • heavy metal
  • ancient history
  • it
  • computer games
  • java
  • web development
  • playing football
  • doom metal
  • computer programming
  • php
  • information technology
  • psychedelic metal
  • world war
  • concentration camps

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC

I love many kinds of music - from slow, psychedelic musics to heavy, black metal and from classical music to blues or jazz. I love especially post rock and Sigur Rós. I did attend to Sigur Rós concert twice! Once in Amsterdam and once in Frankfurt. I appreciate their music. Also attended Empyrium (German metal band) concert in September in Istanbul :)

MOVIES

"A filmmaker is like a Peeping Tom. A voyeur. It's as if the camera is a... the keyhole to your parents' bedroom. And you spy on them, and you're disgusted. You feel guilty... but you can't... you can't look away. It makes films like crimes... and directors like criminals." (The Dreamers - B.Bertolucci)

I love films very much it really feeds my soul and creates new perspectives on us. I am not interested in action films that much but some of them really worth my time:) I like independent filmmakers such as Jim Jarmusch (He is crazy:) Some great films for me: "Intouchables", "Y tu mama tambien", "Requiem for a dream", "Coffee and Cigarettes", "Apocalypto", "The Dreamers", "Forrest Gump", "Godfather"...etc... It's impossible to write all my best films here so enough for now :)

BOOKS

I usually read novels not poems.
I am a big fan of Dostoyevsky, Gogol, Leo Tolstoy, Milan Kundera, Victor Hugo, Charles Dickens, Franz Kafka, George Orwell, Montaigne, Jules Verne, Stendhal.
Some books that I love and recommend: "Les Miserables", "Lamiel", "The Children of Captain Grant", "Metomorphosis", "Crime and Punishment", "Unbearable Lightness of Being", "Dead Souls" etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Attended Sziget festival in Budapest.
- Seen two of the most scenic villages Hallstatt and Grindelwald.
- Made an Interrail trip through Europe for 3 weeks. Alone.
- Attended Sigur Rós concert twice.

Teach, Learn, Share

We can play chess, football or PC games :)
I can cook some traditional foods for you.
I can teach you some programming skills and crazy dance moves
I can share my room, my Interrail experiences in Europe last summer, some interesting topics about either history or geography.
I can talk about art like there won't be mornings.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Azerbaijan, Belgium, Germany, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Nihad’s full profile. It’s free!