Nicole Evans's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicole’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Hungarian, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • English teacher
  • High school, some university, CELTA certified
  • From Traverse City, Michigan, United States.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To fill my life with adventure and as many experiences as possible.

ABOUT ME

I have essentially been traveling or living abroad continuously since I left Michigan at eighteen. I've lived in Budapest, Slovakia, Qatar, and Australia and traveled to many more countries. I've met great people and had fantastic experiences everywhere I've been - this is an addicting traveling life. I love good conversation and meeting new people. I am embarking on a new adventure now - I'm moving back to the US after five years away and decided to make things more interesting by moving to Portland, which I have never been to but it seems like a place I'd love.

PHILOSOPHY

I just want to fill my life with as many experiences and stories as possible. I don't want to look back at the end and feel that I've wasted my time or that I've done things because society expected me to. Life is too short for that!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I lived in Budapest I got into Couchsurfing and used to show people around my adopted city, my favorite city on Earth. I've been inactive for the past few years since I've been traveling more frequently and haven't been able to host or show people around, but now I'm back on as I think it will be a great way to meet new friends in Portland (and hopefully find a couch to surf on for at least a few nights!) As soon as I'm able, I'd like to have a place to host people because I love being a part of the traveling community and don't want to fall out of the loop just because I'm not traveling myself.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Very little. When I moved to Budapest, which has a very active Couchsurfing, I started going to meetings and meeting people who live and travel here. However, I've been inactive for the past few years.

Interests

I enjoy reading, writing, traveling (obviously,) soccer, running, camping, swimming, kayaking, anything music related, and cooking. I have been slowly trying to learn how to play the guitar, but can't say I'm very good - and you don't want to hear my singing voice!

I also love languages (currently learning French.) I like going out, meeting people, and having a good time, although I almost always prefer a house party or impromptu jam
session to going to an expensive and crowded club.

  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • singing
  • cooking
  • wine
  • wine tasting
  • running
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • soccer
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I could talk about books all day, but some of my favorite writers include Haruki Murakami, Margaret Atwood (a Canadian god of writing) Neil Gaiman, Louis de Bernieres, Isabel Allende, Bill Bryson, Evelyn Waugh, Alice Walker, Charles Dickens, Philip K. Dick, Isaac Asimov, Sarah Waters, and many others I'm probably forgetting at the moment. I love Bukowski, but the inherent sexism makes me feel guilty about liking him and several of his contemporaries.

I don't like Hollywood blockbuster films as a general rule, but do love cheesy 90's-era attempts at them. Point Break, Face/Off, The Rock, and ConAir are hilariously bad/awesome.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hitchhiked across Romania, Hungary, and into Slovakia in under 24 hours and met awesome people across the way who took me wine tasting in Hungary, told me the best routes to take, and dropped me at the doorstep of my destination.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm pretty good at cooking! I'm also an English teacher, and love discussing literature. I do book reviews for several websites and can always give you recommendations.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Hungary, Qatar, Slovakia, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicole’s full profile. It’s free!