Niina Kärkkäinen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Niina’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 43 References 30 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Finnish; learning English, Spanish, Swedish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Counselor (social field)
  • Double bachelor from the Culture and Social fields
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm a travel fanatic and never get enough. I´m also a bit curious and adventurous so often I find myself exposed to all new. I think my neophilistic nature pushes me to try new things. I'm not over talkative but still social. I am visual person who sees the beauty also in ugliness.
I work in a workshop for disabled youths and I enjoy it a lot. Currently, I just moved to another flat. It's a shared flat which is located in area called Kaleva. Then I graduated from the university of applied sciences. I got my second bachelor degree from the field of social services. I did my studies while working. It was rewarding but tough. So now I have more free time ;)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I started doing hospitality exchange almost ten years ago through Hospitality club but changed later to this community.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been hosted by so many amazing people and discovered great places all over the world and without CS this would not have been possible. I´m willing to "keep up the good work" and "pay it forward" as a host and quest.

I´ve collected lots of good experiences and memories from surfing and hosting. I have learnt how great it is to share, trust and get view into things by meeting fellow CSers. This community offers so much more than any guide book in the world can give !!!!

Interests

Fleamarkets/bazaars/markets, atmospheric bars/pubs/cafees, crafts/design, museums & galleries, different kinds of hip happenings/gigs/pop-ups, culture, art, nature&forests&lakes, parks, colors, architecture and wooden houses. Summertime I really like staying in summer cottage house in the countryside. Pearls and all kinds of nice assessories (sometimes I might look like a christmas tree), miniature things, sports & exercise. I cycle every day with my lovely Pelago bike and I am very fond of the old/vintage bikes. In general I like healthy lifestyle. The list goes on..
Vegetarian food (Finnish, Indian, Indonesian, Arabic, Korean) and good coffee (coffee in the morning is the best!). I'm excited about Finnish spring and summer and everything they bring because those seasons are too short here in North. I love warm weather and sunny days!

I like to meet new nice people, travel and get to known different cultures! While traveling I want to experience the local way of life. I´m interested to get in everyday life and habits. I like to taste many kinds of food and coffee so you´ll find me from small local restaurants, cafes or markets. Usually the best souvenirs are available from local shops. I´m not a fan of tourist attractions ! I also like adrenaline activities.. going out from the comfortable zone is sometimes definitely required!

..to see the world..

  • cats
  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • architecture
  • design
  • beauty
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • organic food
  • exercise
  • sauna
  • crafts
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • socializing
  • music
  • electronic music
  • cycling
  • snorkeling
  • sports
  • swimming
  • social work
  • beaches
  • parks
  • lakes
  • countryside
  • markets
  • vegetarian food
  • couchsurfing
  • sun
  • silence
  • korean food
  • summer
  • multiculturalism
  • flea markets
  • wellness
  • visiting
  • winter swimming
  • berries
  • scooter
  • health and wellness

Music, Movies, and Books

Electronic stuff, folk, jazz, experimental, 80`s and world music..
New order, client, björk, ladytron, annie, the knife, depeche mode, nouvelle vague, feist, regina, sigur ros and so on. I have noticed to like female vocalists. But I'm open minded with music! Also wind humming, waves ripple and bird's song can be music to your ears. Nowadays I've started to like the silence because of the all-time noise pollution! :)

I like alternative and short films, animations, documents and so on. Especially european and asian movies are good. Finnish director Aki Kaurismäki is one of my favourites! Mostly those mass production things are not usually for me. And comedies just doesn't work for me.

I like reading but usually I have time for that almost only during the holidays. One of the best book I have read is Donna Tartt´s Goldfinch. I'll take any suggestions on good books :)
I like a lot of magazines and comics go also.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sand dunes in Sossusvleiv and giraffes. Snorkeling in Indonesia, Egypt and Thailand etc. Snorkling offers amazing sight of underwater life. It also has a meditative effect. It is mind blowing to swim in the middle of fishcrowds and coral reefs and follow the swimming turtle. Awesome! I met the friendliest people in the world in New Zealand! .. I just stayed three months in Sri lanka and really felt love to that country. It was amazing and memorable period. Beaches in Maldives were top of the world. There is too many things to be mentioned. Small things can be big as well 👌

Ice-swimming in Tampere is also quite an experience! It is terrible and wonderful at the same time. It is amazing to find so extreme experience from my own culture. Everyone should try combination of sauna and ice-swimming or sauna and rolling in the snow, especially people who try to avoid cold things like I do. And I can't get enough ever from our 24 hour of daylight sun in summer time in Finland. It amazes me year after year! Finnish summer cottage houses are the places to be here in the summer time. Simple life is the best.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach things from human pyramids to scales and Gi-energy! What else do you need to survive from the life? :D

I can introduce the Finnish way of life from my perspective..

I would like to learn how to cook delicious ethnic dishes such as Lebanese, Sri lankan and Korean ;P and taste coffees ! It would be great to get some tips where to find good coffee for souvenir to myself ! I am also ready to adventures, to get adrenaline rushes and to explore hidden places.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Viet Nam, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Niina’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups