Logo orange

Nancy McCowan

Gresham, OR, USA

Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 31 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nancy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 44 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 61, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Retired
  • AA Legal Secretary
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Time to pay back! My vacancy sign is out!

I was born and pretty much raised in Portland, OR. At age 27 I joined the navy. I served 5 1/2 yrs. active duty and retired out of the reserves in 2003. When I was discharged from active duty, I worked in IT. I am now retired and from 8/12 to 9/13 I fulfilled a longtime dream of leisurely traveling the US on the back highways, meeting locals and taking time to get to know them and what their lives are like. There are so many wonderful people to meet and parts of our country that I'd love to see again. I developed some lasting friendships and would like to reciprocate my hosts' hospitality by inviting them to visit me, and by opening my home to current surfers. I'm congenial, accommodating, easy to get along with, respectful, clean and honest. I expect you to be respectful, clean and honest also. If you're not, you will be asked to leave. NO DRUGS of any kind. Alcohol OK but not to excess or a drunken state. I look forward to offering you an inexpensive alternative to spendy hotels, and I enjoy showing visitors around the Portland area. I want you to leave my home saying, "I had an amazing time/visit with you!" and I'd like to be able to say the same about you.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I surfed for a full year before returning home (CA home) to finalize my divorce. I am now somewhat settled for a few months in OR and am able to host. I'm enjoying hosting, showing off the Portland area, and meeting new friends.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I spent a year traveling the U.S. ('12-'13) and surfed with 35+ hosts. The majority of them have been positive experiences. So many hospitable, welcoming hosts out there, and I've enjoyed meeting them. After a 9-month hiatus to help family with medical issues followed by over a year of divorce legalities, I'm ready to hang out my shingle and welcome you to my home.

Interests

I enjoy easy-to-moderate hiking, bike riding (although I "lost" my bike during my year travels), walking, spending time w/friends, and reading. I love to sun bathe. I'm drawn to both ocean and mountains. I like Christian fiction, true military books as well as biographies and auto-biographies. For some reason, I love the colonial period of U.S. history. I'm a Christian. That doesn't mean I'll preach to you or question your beliefs. :o)

Music, Movies & Books

Too many movies, but generally action, comedy and romance. THE FAULT OF OUR STARS, most definitely!! Classic rock and roll/old school, Top 40, and jazz. Books by Francine Rivers, Terri Blackstock, Neta & Dave Jackson, Karen Kingsbury, Lori Wick, James Patterson....

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Giving birth to two healthy boys. Driving and shopping along the Amalfi Coast in Italy, walking the Acropolis in Greece, visiting the ruins of Pompeii in Italy, spending six weeks in Yokosuka, Japan visiting Tokyo and seeing Mt. Fuji, short military stint in Songkhla, Thailand, a week-long mission trip in Puebla, Mexico and my unforgettable year of traveling the US.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've learned quite a bit about relationships in the past 8+ years. Until this past year I use to be active at the gym and know a moderate amount about that, although I'm far from knowing what a personal trainer knows. I'm just starting back to regular gym workouts (3/15) as well as trying to learn about plant based nutrition. I want to eat healthier. I'm open to learning most anything. Traveling tips and tricks are of particular interest to me. If you've read this far, mention "females only" in your request to stay with me and I'll know you read my entire profile and didn't just send me a request because my profile is one of the first listed or because I have a 100% response rate.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Greece, Italy, Japan, Korea, Republic of, Mexico, Philippines, Thailand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nancy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile