Noémie Ax's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Noémie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 96 references 52 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Russian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Curious long term tourist
  • University of life
  • From Dreux, Centre-Val de Loire, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Exploring a bit more of the middle east

ABOUT ME

#Solo guys/men, don't send me a couch offer, I won't accept it. I do not care if you just registered a month ago or have 100+ references. I do not stay with single guys anymore. MY SAFETY, MY RULES!
As you supposed to read my profile, you won't be offended if I do not reply.
+ I already have someone in my life, not looking for a local boyfriend, nor willing to give a french passport to anyone #notsorry

People call me Noémie, Naomi, Naima, Naemi depending on the location. Like my name, I try to fit anywhere I go. I absolutely love to travel by myself, it gives me the opportunity to experience real people lives and cultures of countries I'm crossing. I'm travelling overland as much as possible and as slow as visas restrictions allowed me to.

Fun fact: I hate wine, yes I know what you think "but you're french!"
So for real, don't invite me to share a bottle 😄

Important thing to know about me: I LOVE food, always keen to try anything even me most unusual meals, but nothing even slightly spicy, I have a sensitive European stomach🤦🏻‍♀️

Favorite places on earth : The Caucasus mountains and Russia 🇷🇺

To prove that you read all the way down here, please mention the word chai ☕ in your message. Because chai is THE drink to socialize across the world & I love it!

PHILOSOPHY

When there's a will, there's a way
Don't worry, be happy 🎶
Never judge someone without knowing the whole story

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Been hosted in many countries by awesome people.

Haven't host anyone yet as I didn't have a real home for the last 8 years (hostel, huge sharehouse, tiny flat and parent's).

To the people refusing CSers with only hosts reviews like me, just so you know, I try to travel in a responsible way, meaning I spend my money wisely and prefer to help the local economy (aka family run restaurants, guesthouses, shops etc). I don't CS because it's free because anyway I'll be happy to take my hosts out for dinner and drinks, I CS because I want to meet locals.

Interests

Travels, history, cultures, food, languages etc

  • geopolitics
  • history
  • languages
  • religion
  • hitchhiking
  • food
  • slow travel
  • overland travels

Music, Movies, and Books

Of mice and men - Steinbeck
Pride and prejudice - J.Austen
The running man - S.King
Le petit prince - Saint Exupery
Journey of a parisian woman in Lhassa- A. David Neel
Caucasus, Alexandre Dumas
A hero of our time, Lermontov
Djamilia, Aïtmatov
Many books of Sylvain Tesson
Anything written by Ella Maillart
Le monde diplomatique

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiked my way across police checkpoints (sneaking through) and death defying roads from the south to north of Pakistan
Went to some non recognised countries
9 months hitchhiking from home to Central Asia and back
Traveled 4 months across Russia in winter time and didn't freeze
Experienced insane hospitality from strangers: from my drivers while hitchhiking to the Central Asian babushkas who tried to find me local husbands to Dagestani women from tiny mountain villages who treated me like their own daughter
Hitchhiked Pakistan from south to north

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you french, english, how to cook french food, travel related books

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Malaysia, Moldova, Myanmar, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Poland, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Serbia, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Noémie’s full profile.

My Groups