Logo orange

Stephen Sloot

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 35 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Sign Language - American, Spanish, Thai
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Screenwriter
  • Masters in Education & Community Dev...
  • From Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Telling a helluva story.

ABOUT ME

I just rode a motorcycle 3000 miles from Toronto to Los Angeles.

I (finally) discovered what I love more than anything else in the world and it's prompted me to up and move to the City of Angels.

Over the last five years I travelled 260,000km.

To give a bit of background on HOW I am, I'm chill, fun-loving, helpful, friendly, love to chat about anything...I'm respectful, know all about living at someone else's house (I've lived with folks and even worked as a facilitator in a house full of youth...and definitely understand boundaries and lifestyles) and strive to be an awesome host/guest.

I play music, am blessed as a tall man to be able to dance (a bit), have gotten myself into yoga, and love storytelling. I cycle like crazy (to ride in Montreal you have to be a bit crazy), climbing, hiking, camping, beaching, playing, playing, playing.

I am an active participant in the adventures of life, not a spectator. So if you're up for going out, doing something memorable...let the couchsurfing begin.

Oh, and here's one of the stories I told in Toronto at Raconteurs:

http://youtu.be/pBzsTKAYnFI

PHILOSOPHY

I'm all about education, especially the kind you get outside of a classroom. Let's work together when we can. Don't be an arse if you don't have to be. Be firm when you must. Sing when you can and even when you don't want to. Oh, and have fun doing everything...life's too short for spoilsports. Spontaneity is the best spice of life.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm fast becoming a vetran in the world of couchsurfing. I've surfed more than I've hosted, but I hope to change that as soon as I can.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've surfed in France, in Oregon, USA, and hosted a few times in Vancouver, BC. But the majority of my CS world has happened in Montpellier and in Queenstown, NZ.

Interests

I'm active, love sports, learning new languages, local history (wherever I am), good movies, great cafes, a pint in the evening, maybe biking around, help work on the planet if I can. I'm very much into how learning works, how intercultural communication can go...oh, and lots and lots of travel.

visited 20 states (8.88%)Create your own visited map of The World or website vertaling duits?

visited 10 states (76.9%)Create your own visited map of Canada or jurisdische vertaling duits?

visited 27 states (54%)

Music, Movies & Books

This is new for me, but I've actually just finished writing my first screenplay. Movies have never been more important to me - not necessarily into high cinema just yet, but I'm getting through understanding how to show a good story. Now if only I can get it made...

Anything from Robbins, Kerouac, or Louis de Berniere to Atwood. I love good books and hope to finish mine one day.

Music is my thing. I've got a phone full of great new Canadian music, mostly indie stuff. You can't go wrong with the Beatles or Lou Reed, and there's lots of long nights with Coltrane or Mingus. If I can get the chance, I want to see Italian operas and German symphonies. I'll listen to country when I want to, and dig the blues whenever I can (love John Mayal). I play the guitar as well, so jams are always an option.

Movies. I'm a movie guy. From Casablanca to junkie romantic comedies, I watch them all.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Amazing 10 year-old host sister with a smile to light up the sun in Ghana; learned how to write and read Thai with another family; was taught how to play Guantanamera by a very friendly Cuban; too much to go on!

Teach, Learn, Share

I learn something from everyone, and I try to teach something to everyone. That way everyone is a teacher and student.

Currently learning French and should probably translate all this into French! Also, writing writing, writing. I ought to learn to spell and try and be coherent, non?

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Chile, France, Germany, Guyana, Japan, Netherlands, Peru, Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Canada, Cuba, Ecuador, France, Ghana, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile