Nthupula Masipa's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nthupula’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English, Sotho, Tswana; learning German, Xhosa, Zulu
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Post-Grad Student
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

I'm an Economics and Sociology double major, just done with a semester at Barnard College, Columbia University. I am at home in the city, at the beach, in the mountain, in the desert... yes, just about anywhere but the icy cold. I'm not sure if it's my abhorrence for conceit or if I'm reluctant to fill this out like a job application, but I can honestly just say that I have the widest range of tastes possible and so I enjoy doing and experiencing the widest range of things. I do have to point out that my heart belongs to fruit and veggies.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've always enjoyed sleeping over at my friends' places and I've been able to travel all around South Africa multiple times and to a few places abroad by crashing on people's couches. I've covered my couch many times for people to crash at mine in South Africa. Upon hearing about my travel ventures, a friend recommended that I join Couchsurfing to broaden my travels and meet cool people.

Interests

I love any physical activity, though I have a particular inclination for scouring new sights by foot (this can mean getting a great view by hiking or seeing a beautiful street by jogging). I love music more than anything in the world, so I would be chuffed to be introduced to spaces that play great (any genre) music or to be introduced to new music.

  • partying
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • economics
  • sociology
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

- I don't have any favorite music, although I'm apt to listen to Hiatus Kaiyote or The Internet at any moment.

- I seriously don't have a favorite movie.

- I genuinely don't have a favorite book. Although Zadie Smith's 'White Teeth' was the first book that I bought (I am a library person).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Getting into a party where my some of my 'favorite' musicians such as Erykah Badu (and her band), Snarky Puppy, Hiatus Kaiyote and Chris Daddy Dave were all present.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have no idea what I would be able to teach, as this is entirely up to those who would learn from me, but I would love to learn from people whose backgrounds and thoughts are both similar and vastly different from mine. I hope to share my experiences, knowledge and contacts.

What I Can Share with Hosts

An incredibly open-minded guest who is more excited to learn from and share of themselves than they will ever be able to describe.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Lesotho, Mauritius, Namibia, Swaziland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Botswana, South Africa, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nthupula’s full profile. It’s free!