Logo orange

Nathanael Bonnell

Minneapolis, MN, USA

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nathanael's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Esperanto, Korean, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Vagabond
  • Graduated college
  • From Cincinnati, OH, USA
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see the places I haven't seen in North America, learn how to live with nature in the old ways, and decide where I'll settle down

ABOUT ME

So little lifetime, so much to experience. I want to get to know nature like a good friend, and understand people and cultures all around the world. I plan to spend a long time being a hobo while I'm traveling—hitchhiking, stealth camping, salvaging food that would go to waste. I don’t wear shoes if I can possibly avoid them, and I’ve happily walked barefoot through forest, gravel, and Iowa snow. I find languages absolutely fascinating, and I'll talk about them until dawn if no one stops me. I design fonts in my spare time, and sell them on the internet. I taught English in South Korea for a year. Someday, I'll probably have some land where I'll work on permaculture, and I plan to use much of my life working to improve the state of the environment. I'm easygoing; things that most people might consider bad, I consider fascinating new experiences.

PHILOSOPHY

I want to live with nature, rather than against it. I also want to generally have fun. And I always want to be improving.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm hoping to surf a lot of couches on the Year of Adventure that I'm now on, which has taken me from Mongolia through Europe and is now taking me all over my native North America. Later, when I have my own couch (or something similar), I'll host couchsurfers whenever I can. I haven't hosted anyone yet, but I'd love to when I can.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Stayed with fantastic hosts in Krakow, Moscow, Oxford, and Wales, each one a completely different unforgettable experience, and even went to a party in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.

Interests

People, the outdoors, words and letters, freeganism, permaculture, climbing, hunting and gathering, simplicity

Music, Movies & Books

Music: The Mountain Goats, Grieg, Sufjan Stevens, Sibelius, Eels, Neutral Milk Hotel, Bartók, The Books, Penderecki, Castanets, Frank Zappa, The Beatles, Cake

Books: Walden, Huck Finn, Amphigorey, Alan Mendelsohn the Boy from Mars, The Trial, Waiting for Godot, Fahrenheit 451, The Omnivore's Dilemma

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I was in Siem Reap, Cambodia, and I biked to the Tonlé Sap Lake. There were people taking an expensive tour boat to a floating village on the lake, but I decided to just walk down a long spit of sand into the lake. It was abuzz with local people, repairing boats, eating lunch, kicking balls around, just living. Then I got to the end of the spit and a Canadian guy who had come out of nowhere helped me into a new level of adeventurousness: he didn't let the end of the land stop him, he just hailed a passing local boat and asked to go wherever the driver was going. I hopped in too and we made it to the floating village and saw people living in bright-colored boats, and we ate snake jerky and saw dried alligator skins and drank with a local. And hitchhiked back, too.

Teach, Learn, Share

Stuff I know:
—A decent amount of Korean cooking. I can demonstrate and/or teach you if the right ingredients are on hand. Same goes for pad Thai, which has been a standby meal of mine ever since I learned how to make it in Chiang Mai.
—Calligraphy/fancy lettering. I design fonts as a side job, kind of more of a hobby considering the profits.
—A few cool card tricks.
—Languages. I only speak one second language (Spanish) with anything approaching fluency, but I know bits here and there about dozens of languages, and would be more than happy to talk about them.
—English spelling... I hereby offer to be your personal spellchecker whenever I'm in earshot.

Stuff I'd like to know more of:
—Wilderness skills. Especially wild edibles.
—Cooking the local food wherever I am.
—Cultures, all over the world. Your culture. Maybe there is a reason I studied anthropology, after all. I especially like to learn stuff about how people relate to the environment.
—Other languages. One can never know enough.

Countries I've Visited

Cambodia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Laos, Mexico, Mongolia, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nathanael's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile