Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Margie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 13 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Russian
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Master's student - European and Russian studies
  • Finished BA in History, now a Masters student
  • From Ottawa, Ontario (Canada)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To boldly surf where no couch has gone before.


Specialization is for insects - I think every person should know or aspire to know how to knit a scarf, change a tire, write a poem, learn another language, play a sport, build a cabinet, play an instrument and cook a big meal for 40.


I'm interested in dream interpretation, dancing 'the wheelbarrow', and interpreting dreams about dancing the wheelbarrow.

  • insects
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • knitting
  • sports
  • hockey
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - Neoangin, Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, Kino, Harry Belafonte, The Knife

Favourite Authors - Robertson Davies, Dostoevsky, Yann Martel, Rohinton Mistry.

Movies: Les Enfants du Paradis, I Heart Huckabees

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to play the accordion (for beginners) how to ice skate and play ice hockey - especially if playing goalie is your thing - help you analyze your dreams according to Jungian psychological theory, demonstrate the basics of knitting and sewing, teach you how to use Quark express and show you how to cook delicious vegetarian meals! Oh, also I can spell things backwards pretty well in both of Canada's official languages ;^)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belarus, China, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Japan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, Tanzania, Ukraine, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Ireland, Russian Federation, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Margie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups