Sören Hand's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sören’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 75 References 68 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Italian
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • seeking for answers
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


extending my mind by meeting you/ making new freinds...


I´m participating for six years in CS now and thanks to it I have met incredebily generous, open, interessting and trustful people all over the world. In this way I would even say that CS has changed my image of humanity in a very positive way. Although it´s a b-cooperation now and alhough the internet page isn´t anymore what it once was, the experience of meeting people rest fortunately the same.

I´m living currently in Padova as an Erasmus Student, beeing mostly enganged in my philosophy studies. Philosophy seems rather a life time task to me than just a study at university. In fact I don´t feel like I should do anything else till I´m old and feeble.


Our existance seems sometimes to cover any form of objective truth. But we can approach to something like that by overcoming our common ideas and imaginations.

The more we use this way of thinking the more we become aware of contradictions that cover truth.
Traveling is a great form of getting in contact with new things, so that cross these barriers of our minds. I'm not searching for the comfort of tourists trips, I'm searching for the intensity of travelling which can be tough sometimes but which is sometimes manifesting a beauty of life that you can't purchase with money.

Wherever I was to see different culturs, social reality became clearer to me.
Wherever I exchanged experiance with other people I became aware of the momentums that make this clockwork orange move...

Traveling is extending minds!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Surfing whenever I´m travelling and hosting whenever I can offer a couch


I travelled three month through the US and Canada and couchsurfed every single day.
It was one of the greatest things I did in my entire life.
In March 2011 I was couchsurfing in Israel for two weeks.
At the meantime I´m exploring France
It's a great way to push the edges of my envelop and to confront myself everyday with something totally new.

I also hosted a few people in my apartment who were in Kiel for a brief visit.

I never made any negative experience so far.


I´m vegan (vegan means that I do not consume or use any animal products such as meat, fish, dairy products like milk or cheese, eggs, honey, leather, silk etc.)

Beyond Philosophie I have I lot of passions. First of all music. I have my roots in punk but for a few years I mostly focus an classical music, learning violin. I also participated as a choir singer in various choirs and even in the opera of Kiel. My favorite pieces in classical music are mostly from the late 19th century. I love Schuberts Lieder, Wagners early operas and pretty anything from Beethoven. But I´m sill listening and playing the music which influenced me so strongly when I was younger. I have a singer songwriter project and would like to play and punk bands again.

I also like sports. Especially soccer, triathlon and material arts

  • arts
  • vegan
  • triathlon
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • classical music
  • violin
  • opera
  • surfing
  • sports
  • soccer

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Philosophy (mostly french philosophy of the 20th century, francfort school, german idealism), french literature, non-fictional books.

films. David Lynch, Bela Tarr, Stanley Kubrick, Jim Jarmusch...

Music: Elliott Smith

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

visited 32 states (64%)Create your own visited map of The United States

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some basics in Philosophy...Also in germand even though I don't know very many grammar rules

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Palestine, Poland, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, Germany, Italy

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Sören’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups