Marie Hernandez's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 33 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 40, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Trip Leader & Tour Director / Guide
  • California Institute of the Arts: Bachelor of Fine Arts -...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
I want to be a kid forever!

ABOUT ME
I believe in serendipity like a religion!

When I travel, I usually travel alone, mostly because the discovery of new friends along the journey is the best part. If I happen to meet someone who is going the same direction as me for a period of time then I enjoy the company, and someone to share the memories with. Life is beautiful that way.

I grew up on the Central Coast of California, halfway between LA and SF, but now call San Francisco home. Growing up I spent a lot of time outdoors, hiking camping and still really enjoy all those activities today.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My brother told me about this site after he had some travelers stay at his place in San Francisco. He told me how much fun it was to show people around his city for the first time.

When I was traveling I surfed on occasion and attended many group meetings. I met some fantastic people through CSing and I always wanted to give back when I had a home of my own. Now... I have hosted people and organized a few events and meet-ups.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I have had some amazing experiences, met some fantastic people, who were eager to meet me, too. They let me stay without any hesitation, and I was treated no different than family.

Now that I am home again, and I have hosted some fantastic people. Meeting the local CSers in my area has been awesome.

Interests

I grew up riding horses and still love to go for a ride when I get a chance. I love being outside, going for walks, hikes, bicycling and generally enjoying the sunshine and fresh air. I do not surf, but I enjoy kayaking & river rafting and in the winter... Snowboarding is my jam. Any opportunity to try something new I will take it.

  • horses
  • photography
  • education
  • beer
  • boating
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • communications
  • teaching
  • hitchhiking
  • beaches

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Belize, China, France, Germany, Guatemala, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malaysia, New Zealand, Scotland, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie’s full profile.

My Groups