Oceany Chan

Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Oceany’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Chinese, Yue (Cantonese); learning English, French, Swedish
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Global citizen? Haha
  • University
  • From Hong Kong
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Encounter the unknowns


A description of myself, hmm. It's always a bit hard for me to describe myself. I may say I am quite a calm and loyal person, easygoing, a bit introverted and shy. I would like to call myself an observer, and probably a listener as well.
A little bit of alcohol is OK for me, too much at once will just make me sleep like hell! As you can imagine, I am not a party animal. Other than that I am always curious about different things and willing to try something new.

Born and grew up in Hong Kong. Longing to stay in Europe for a few months. Now I am lucky enough to get a chance to go for an exchange in Sweden, so I gonna take this opportunity to hang around. Now I am planning to go on a trip to western and northern Europe, my goal is to make at least one new friend in each of the countries that I plan to visit. Morocco, Spain, Portgual, France, Netherlands, Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Norway, Finland and of couse Sweden. I am not sure if I can really achieve this goal but perhaps couchsurfing is a good starting point!


To encounter all kinds of unknowns, to discover every possible corners of the world. Because life is a journey to an unknown destination, you never know where it will bring you to. That is what I believe.

'Working' shall not be boring. Love what you do, do what you love, that's my metto.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm inspired by an university friend and therefore would like to try it!


I am an absolute newbie to CS, but right now I am trying hard to get my first couchsurfing experience!


Football, Books, Music.
I love playing and watching football. Arsenal is my favorite football team and I try hard not to miss any of their matches! Gooners FOREVER!
In spare time I would grab a book to read or randomly pick some music to listen to. I listen to The Strokes, Muse, Coldplay, Sigur Ros and some other post-rock bands. The music of Sigur Ros is the reason why I want to go to Iceland - how could they produce music like THAT?
I am also interested in learning foreign languages, currently I'm learning French and Swedish, though my English is not that good!

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: The Strokes, John Mayer, Muse, Sigur Ros, Oasis, The Kooks, Coldplay, James Blunt, James Morrison, God is an Astronaut. In short, pop and rock! But I do also enjoy Soul and sometimes Jazz because they are really relaxing....

Books: 1984 by George Orwell.

If I am to name my favorite movie at the moment, I would say it is 'Spirited Away' by Hayao Miyazaki. Another would be "Fight Club'. These two indeed leave me a profound reflection on the capitalist world that we are in.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I would say, the northern lights. I have been to the northern part of Sweden (Kiruna and Abisko) for 4 days. For the first two days of my trip the light was not as obvious as it was in the photos that I have seen. But before I went home with disappointment that amazing moment happened. That night, on the mountain of Abisko, near the peak, with a temperature of nearly -20C, the bright green light shined. I was speechless for a few seconds, and then I realized that the light was even moving! For 'moving' I really mean moving because the light was flowing around above my head like a cloth was blown by wind. It was absolutely stunning.

That moment.
If you ask me whether I will go again to see it, Yes, definitely yes, for I am looking forward to seeing lights with different colors, for example, red and white!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Cantonese, the language we speak in Hong Kong. And a bit Chinese perhaps? haha!
Other than that I am always hoping to improve my English, and maybe French as well!
Of course it would be fun to learn how to cook dishes of other countries!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Oceany’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups