Ogulcan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ogulcan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning French
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • filmmaker
  • cinema and television & visual communication design
  • From İzmir, Izmir, Turkey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Filmmaker living in Istanbul.
Living for long walks, coffee, beer and live concerts.

Moving posters. (https://instagram.com/posterinmotion)
Writing about movies I love. (https://ogulcannot.medium.com)
Written about scandinavian movies for a while (https://nordiksimit.org/en/author/ogulcannot)

Lived in Toronto for a year. Planning to move to Nantes or Lyon.

Can talk about parallel universes forever.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm a filmmaker, and empathy is everything to me. Every person I meet open up a brand new world in my mind even if I've already been interested in their culture.

Instead of touristic places, I'd love to explore the city with locals where they usually go and take little notice around. I think those areas are reflecting more about the places than the others.

Interests

  • photography
  • concerts
  • politics
  • rock music
  • philosophy
  • cinema
  • fine arts

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: 80s post-punk/new wave like Joy Division, The Cure.
Synthwave like The Prodigy, Joy Division.
Alternative rock like Deftones, Blind Melon, My Bloody Valentine, Portishead, Mazzy Star, Keane, Placebo.
Grunge like Nirvana, Noir Désir.
Britpop like Oasis, Blur, Pulp.
Sigur Rós, Massive Attack, Bowie, Björk and Pink Floyd who I cannot put into any type of genres tbh.

Movie: The Virgin Suicides, Curfew, Control, Plemya, Gegen die Wand, Dazed and Confused, Transit, Closet Monster.

Book: Woolf, Poe.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a small apartment literally in the city center.
Surrounded by cafes, shops, bars, clubs. And still the neighborhood is quite silent.

I have a single bed and a big couch. You can choose as you'd like.

I can take you to places that you can have a nice view or a fun night out with my friends. Been living in Istanbul for 10 years, so I can actually help you feel like you've been here a several times.

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Norway

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Ogulcan’s full profile.