Oliver Banks's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Oliver’s full profile.


  • 7 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 22, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Education & Finance
  • University of Oxford
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently doing an experiment of working remotely abroad :)
Travelled to 40 countries, 50% of them solo.
My favourite place was Kyrgyzstan!
I have English, Italian, and Bengali heritage and I grew up in London. I studied politics, philosophy, and economics at university and now split my time between travelling, tutoring, and an internship in sustainability.

I've recently taken up life drawing! Other than that, I love to try new food and get lost in strange places!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people and swapping stories. It's amazing how vast the world is and how broad the gamut of one's experience can be when we are all made up of the same cells.


  • arts
  • culture
  • architecture
  • modern art
  • photography
  • cooking
  • wine
  • cheese
  • running
  • drinking
  • politics
  • video games
  • drawing
  • music
  • classical music
  • jazz
  • opera
  • cycling
  • economics
  • history
  • languages
  • philosophy
  • science
  • ballet
  • instagram
  • theatre
  • computers
  • instruments
  • modern architecture

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: any hard bop jazz. Chopin, Scriabin, Debussy, Rachmaninoff, Liszt. Slavic EDM.

Books: Infinite Jest, The Republic, Proust, The Tin Drum, Freakonomics, Crime and Punishment, Fathers and Sons, We, The Bell Jar, Hemingway

Movies: Leviathan, Loveless, Lanthimos, Almodovar, Her

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Written the libretto for an opera

Teach, Learn, Share

Try things twice

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good debates, good stories, someone to explore with if you have the time!
If you have a piano, I might be able to play something...
I like cooking too!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Bangladesh, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Oliver’s full profile.