Oren Margolis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Oren’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References
  • Fluent in English; learning Czech, German, Italian, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Soul-searcher
  • BS in Media, Culture, and Communication from NYU
  • From Princeton, New Jersey, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Dream big; don't wimp out

ABOUT ME

Well, this is quite a small space to write everything about me. I'll try to do my best.

At a bit of a crossroads in my life right now and trying to make some big decisions about what I want to do, who I want to be, and how I want to maximize my happiness. I've learned that no one has all the answers, lest of all myself. My goal is to become more of a "free spirit" - it's something I'm working towards, but am far from achieving.

I was on a very popular American game show in March 2010 (Wheel of Fortune). This sums up how ridiculous my life has come to be.

PHILOSOPHY

Yeah, this is kind of what I've been trying to figure out these days....

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

After traveling around and experiencing the kindness of others, I'd be so happy to show others around my city. I definitely believe that it's best to see a place through the eyes of a native, and I hope that I can be a wealth of knowledge!

I've met up with a good amount of people and shown them around the city. Hopefully when I'm out of university I can start hosting, but until then I'm always glad to connect with couchsurfers for a quick tour around a NYC neighborhood, if I have time.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Shown a few people around my neck of the woods in New York, and really enjoyed meeting all of them! Through CS, I have learned of the common bond that unites not all people - but all travelers (and travelers in spirit) who approach the world and its connectivity between people similarly.

Interests

Humanity, communication/media theory, classical music/opera, travel and culture, politics (to a degree). I'm a big believer in "hanging out."

  • culture
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • classical music
  • opera
  • communications

Music, Movies, and Books

Generally, I know little to nothing about pop culture.

If I can appreciate it, then I can enjoy it..... even if I don't "like" it.

Classical music, pop music, country music, you name it.
I'm also a huge fan of documentaries.
I read little outside of academic reading. Hopefully that will change when I graduate from college.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Impossible to narrow it down to just one:

- Spent the day at Machu Picchu (and now I understand why it's one of the New 7 Wonders of the World)

- Toured 30 US States, DC, and Bermuda

- Lived and studied Italian Opera in Florence for a month

- Picked up and moved to the Czech Republic for 3 months

- Traveled around Europe

- Booked a Hawai'i vacation 5 days before leaving

- Spent a week in Istanbul hanging out with Turkish university students

- Many more that should be listed

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a lot to teach and a lot to learn. I like to think that I'm wise beyond my years, but maybe I just have a lot of knowledge..... these are two separate things.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Netherlands, Peru, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Oren’s full profile. It’s free!