Logo orange

OLGA GUZMAN

New York, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see OLGA's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References
  • Fluent in Spanish; learning English
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • International Student
  • Bachelor Degree
  • From Bogota, Colombia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy every single moment as much as I can

ABOUT ME

I'm originally from Bogota, Colombia and moved to New York in July 2009. I just finished a Master in Social Work , I can't believe yet! I find aggressively pursuing my dreams to be the stuff of life. I'm a comfortable, friendly person who enjoys meeting new people and the pleasant conversations we have. I'm looking forward to meeting others from diverse backgrounds while couchsurfing and sharing our stories.

Working with people and looking for different opportunities to get involved in art therapy, spirituality, and international projects for oppressed populations.

PHILOSOPHY

Make a positive contribution to the lives that one comes in contact with.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am looking forward o be able to host at my home and to being able to visit other places in the world. I am happy to offer some guidance or a hand for travelers who are in Colombia or NYC.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

It has been a great and amazing adventure. My first and one of the most wonderful CS experience was at NOLA. I was hosted by different couchsurfers when I went to Europe in Summer 2014. I have met a couple of travelers to show some secret and fascinating places in NYC. I have been in different CS activities and I met some great people who became my friends afterwards.

Interests

I enjoy food, rich deserts, rock music, an occasional glass of red wine, exotic cultures and natural places. I enjoy hiking in the mountains, and exploring seashores and riversides. I have a special affinity for watersides and warm weather! I find traveling by myself to be a source of adventure and spiritual connection. Cycling, roller-skating, knitting and jewelry-making, are very relaxing for me. I enjoy having an international community, family, and friends.

Music, Movies & Books

I grew up listening to classic and Spanish rock bands like Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, Charlie Garcia, Soda Stereo, Andres Calamaro, Manu Chao, etc. I love dancing reggae, afro-latin (Salsa, Son Cubano, Cumbia), and Colombian folk. Through the Colombian dances I am able to discover my country's story.

I love independent movies from different countries and I am delighted with the magic realism of Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

To bring my mom to NYC to celebrate together my graduation. This was actually her first time outside of Colombia. She had fun, was extremelly happy and amazed about every single thing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to share what a wonderful country like Colombia is with people. I studied Colombian folk culture and so especially I love to share that. When I meet someone from a different culture, I love to know what inspires them about their heritage.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I am interested in sharing everything that I know about the most exotic places in my country. I love Colombian people, food, music and folk culture. I love dancing, especially Afro-Colombian dancing.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Spain, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

Colombia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see OLGA's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile