Allison Olson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Allison’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Right now I am teaching English in a French college and l...
  • I graduated in May 2011 from the University of Minnesota ...
  • From Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States of America
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My main objective in life right now is to decide what I want out of it and what my path is. I have 7 months as an American in France trying to pick up as much of the language as possible. I love people and traveling!

ABOUT ME

I grew up in a suburb of Minneapolis Minnesota. I went to high school there and played girl's ice hockey and ran for the cross country team. I wasn't a big talker in high school and mostly stuck to the people I knew the best. I decided on the University of Minnesota Twin Cities where I became interested in Sociology and continued with French, which I was very passionate about in high school. I got my chance to study out of state in my sophomore year of college through a program called National Student Exchange. It was a great experience. I went to the University of Hawaii Manoa and I made some of my best friends there. Throughout the rest of college, I didn't get much of a chance to travel, but jumped at the opportunity to teach in France. Here I am and I love it so far! It is great to finally feel like I am living in the real world. College felt like a bubble and here I am experiencing a whole new culture and lifestyle! I really could not ask for more.

PHILOSOPHY

For a personal philosophy... I truly advocate the age old saying, "Treat others as THEY want to be treated." Too often we are caught up in ourselves and our own worldview. I think that if everyone focused a little more on empathy, he/ she would live life so much fuller. It is a gift that we are able to truly "wear someone else's shoes," so why don't we do it more often? We have infinite choice in this world; let's start making some daring ones.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am new to couch surfing and excited to meet new people through both hosting and surfing!

Interests

I love hiking, running, ice hockey, biking, yoga, reading, organizing social events, learning, music, conversation, and meeting new people!

  • culture
  • yoga
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • hockey
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

I really like all types of music. I think music is special mostly because of the way it can make you feel. I love music for its emotional properties. I think each genre of music has something to offer and should be respected! I get in to anything and everything and am ALWAYS looking for new genres, bands, artists, songs. If you have any suggestions, don't hesitate to send them my way!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Yellowstone National Park. The nature there is breathtaking. I recommend it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach English to anyone who wants to learn or just practice speaking. I teach English to French kids right now and love it. I love yoga as well and am always thirsty to know more about it, as well as share with others some of what I know.

Countries I’ve Visited

France

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Allison’s full profile. It’s free!