Erin Mallon

Basel, Basel-Town, Switzerland

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Russian, Swiss German
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Student, yoga teacher, waitress, translator
  • In teeny-tiny California towns at Charter Schools, at com...
  • From Laytonville, California, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Creating the most compact knitting set ever to take around the world!


(I am not a travelling band or musician, but CS says I am...)

Walking, writing, drawing, breathing, cooking, seeing, dancing, singing, sleeping, dreaming, traveling.


"Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: "What! You too? I thought I was the only one." -CS Lewis

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Surfing and hosting


I have 'surfed' in 17 countries and hosted many people. I've also attended many meetings and camps and have made some of the most important friends of my life through couchsurfing :)


Books, art, music, stuff, food, dance, teaching, communicating, learning, singing, what-have-you.

Music, Movies, and Books

Some books:
The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Milan Kundera)
Labyrinths, Collected Poems (Jorge Luis Borges)
100 Years of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
Die Kunst geht knapp nicht unter (interviews with Anselm Kiefer)
The Sense of Sight (John Berger)

Some Music:
Andrew Bird
Anouar Brahem
Adam Hurst
First Aid Kit
Bob Dylan
Nick Drake
Leonhard Cohen

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Glued whole loaves of bread to a wall with butter with Eve and Dani. Inexplicably kept up high spirits on a 10 day bike trip during a flood. That was amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

Languages: I speak English and German (and some Swiss German). I'd like to learn Russian!

Avid knitter, sewer, drawer, cook and baker. Happy to learn or teach anything that you or I can learn or teach.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Slovakia, Switzerland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    21 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups