Omar Elhassan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Omar’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • No occupation listed
  • B.Sc Environmental Soil Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Looking to meet new people, learn about different cultures, and explore reality and our environment through others' eyes. I love differing perspectives and beliefs and see that as the best way to grow as a person.

I love cycling, hiking, and literature. Anything to do with being in nature (i.e. camping/backpacking/canoeing) and anything active is what I'm into. Always down for new experiences.

Ready for some adventure, some cool people, and living out of my backpack! After hitching around for about two months I'm now living in New Zealand for a year to be a farmer, cause why not?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The concept of Couchsurfing is the realization of how I would like to live my life, at least for a little while. Easy way to truly experience a new place with true locals who are generous enough to open their homes to fellow travelers.

Interests

Im learning to play the ukulele and to juggle during my travels and while I wait on the side of the road for rides! I really enjoy writing, mostly short stories about experiences and memories and randomly scattered poems all contained in a tiny leather pocketbook. I absolutely love dancing and cannot get enough of different dances from cultures all over the world! Currently salsa is my strong suit with some bachata and merengue thrown in there too.

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Orwell, Coehlo, Vonnegut, Gaiman, and Pratchett are probably my favorite authors.

Music: Folk, Indie, Jazz, Motown/Funk/Disco, and Rap. The only genres I haven't extensively explored have got to be EDM/electronic music and Country.

Movies: Tarantino and Kubric are hands down my favorite directors.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ive climbed one of the highest peaks in Belize with an English med school student I met a few days beforehand. Signed a deathwaiver while the rangers chuckled behind the desk, found out 4 hours in that the trail hasnt been maintained, and somehow survived to live a tale of getting lost in the middle of the rainforest in the middle of a jaguar reserve.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach? A little bit of ukulele. If I can play it then anyone can :)
Learn? Id love to learn as much as possible about people, experiences, and live philosophies. Im currently learning to play the ukulele and to juggle!
Share? A random list of crazy stories!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer a myriad of (hopefully) interesting and funny stories from my travels, a wide open ear to hear your life experiences (because honestly that's much more intriguing), and a fun companion. I'm all about different perspectives. I can also cook a meaaan curry (other dishes too but spicy Thai curry is the specialty). I can now also play (a little bit) the ukulele so some nice tunes are coming your way!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Belize, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Guatemala, India, Italy, Macedonia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Spain, Sudan, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belize, Italy, New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Omar’s full profile. It’s free!