Logo orange

Ondine Quinn

Lexington, KY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ondine's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • I am a housing case manager who work...
  • I have a bachelors degree from Ohio ...
  • From Columbus Ohio USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet interesting new people, be creative and authentic, have fun with life.

ABOUT ME

I am a queer, latina rabble rouser. I'm an organizer, artist (painter) and musician (violin). I like to bike, eat new foods,try new teas and beers, watch movies (hate romantic comedies though), read books (fiction, and non-fiction, I am currently reading "A Casual Vacancy" by JK Rowling, dance (salsa, merengue, bachata, random booty shaking), be crafty, volunteer, shake shit up.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I don't have any but I'm excited to meet people and make connections!

Interests

Community organizing, cultural competency, learning about social service delivery that meets people where they are and preserves people's dignity, crafting, soap making, reading and writing zines, racial justice, feminism, social justice work, POC, LGBTIQ folk, reproductive justice, exciting and new foods, socialism, Harry Potter, Wiifit, Spanish, anything Cuban, my dog, racial justice work.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: punk, indie, riot grrrl, electronic, bluegrass, classical, hip hop, jazz, blues, pop, avante garde, salsa.... I honestly listen to a lot of different music and it depends on my mood. I love being introduced to new music so show me what you got! I've never been able to dive into modern pop-country though, so it would take a lot more work to get me excited about that.

Books: All over the place here too.. I like to read fiction and nonfiction. Sometimes I want my books to be light (I finished Harry Potter this year and I'm currently reading JK Rowling's book A Casual Vacancy) but a few books ago I was reading about how to transform rape culture... I'm a big fan of zines too. Love reading zines - mostly DIY type ones (I have an excellent one about soap making), perzines less so, but I do read them on occasion.

Movies: I'm usually down to try most movies except romantic comedies. They're just too cheesy, formulaic and hetero-normative for me most of the time. However I really enjoyed Obvious Child. I love nature and political documentaries, and I don't mind horror flicks as long as their not stupidly gross and gory.

Television: Television for me is a way to turn my brain off and give myself a break from a job that can be intense and a world that can leave me feeling weary at times. Because of that, I'm all over the place with my TV indulgences. I'm caught up on Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones, Boardwalk Empire, Breaking Bad, The Office (American version), Star Trek DS9 and TNG, True Blood, Dexter, King of the Hill and the Simpsons.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

When I was 11 years old I had the opportunity to visit several different locations in Mexico. It was a very special opportunity for me because the trip was paid for. My family is considered low income (poor) by U.S. standards and could never have sent me abroad. When I arrived in Mexico city I met children my age who were begging for money and living in circumstances far worse than my own and it was the first time in my life that I considered that poverty is relative and that despite how I saw myself or how I was treated at home, I was very privileged.

My family is originally from Cuba. The first time I set foot in Havana I cried because it felt like coming home.

I am a state certified HIV tester and I work with people who are HIV+ to help them identify their barriers towards maintaining stable housing.

I once was in a punk/indie band that toured through part of the United States. We wrote an album where we covered/re-did resistance songs from 75 years ago.

I once backpacked from Mexico City to Medellin Colombia.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach/Share: English, beginning Spanish, beginning violin, vegan cooking, Cuban cooking, information about safer sex practices and HIV transmission, grassroots organizing and activist skills, soap making, zine making.

Learn: New languages (especially Japanese!), guitar or bass, photography, sewing.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I am very clean and orderly and would not be a burden on anyone's space. I also enjoy cooking especially Cuban cooking and/or vegan cooking and I'd be happy to prepare a meal. I also know how to make soap (lye-based hot process) and can gladly share that quirky skill. I'm a decent conversationalist and also like going to museums, dancing and just sort of adventuring around. While I'm not a pro at it, I also know how to chop fire wood.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ondine's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile