Claire Oliver

Sevenoaks, Kent, England

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Claire’s full profile. It’s free!


  • English Teacher
  • No education listed
  • From Swanley Village, Kent, England.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me




I would describe myself as an eternal optimist, who loves to laugh and spend time with the people who are important to me. My family and friends would probably describe me as kind and loyal with a good sense of humor. I tend to be the kind of person people feel comfortable talking to and confiding in (I will admit, I am a talker...but I'm a good listener too!). I'm easy going and get along with everyone and could probably be described as the "girl next door"; (for lack of a better cliche!). I try not to take life too seriously. I absolutely adore travel, experiencing new cultures, food, and meeting new people.....I try to live life to the full. Although I grew up in the UK, I've not lived there for the past ten years. I've been busy travelling through Africa and living in Asia. I have taught English in South Korea, Japan, Thailand, India and England. I'm currently living and working in Rome. I arrived in September 2012.


Your life holds unlimited potential and wonderful dreams. You have the ability to attain whatever you seek; within you is every potential you can imagine.
Always aim higher than you believe you can reach. So often, you'll discover that when your talents are set free by your imagination, you can achieve any goal. If people offer their help or wisdom as you go through life, accept it gratefully. You can learn much from those who have gone before you. But never be afraid or hesitant to step off the accepted path and head off in your own direction if your heart tells you that it's the right way for you.

Always believe that you will ultimately succeed at whatever you do, and never forget the value of persistence, discipline, and determination.
You are meant to be whatever you dream of becoming.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing




International travel, cooking European and Asian food, Photography – taking photos and viewing other peoples work. Wildlife – I love putting on my rubber boots and going off in to the woods to pick wild vegetables. Reading – biographies and thrillers mostly. Arts and crafts – I have a fondness for Art Deco and 1940’s fashion. Hiking, nature walking, and a little rock climbing. Gardening – getting more and more in to this one as I’m getting older. Sadly I don’t have a garden, so I make do with balconies and stairwells :) Snorkeling, but not scuba diving; although I did try while on holiday in Egypt. Genealogy – I’ve traced my ancestors back to Russia, India, Belgium and Holland. Postcards – writing and receiving. Hanging out with friends.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I lived in South Korea for 3.5 years, Japan 4 years, Greece 6 months and have spent time between travelling Asia and Africa. I spent two weeks climbing to Everest Base Camp in Nepal, and loved every minute of living like a tramp. I’ve swum with a dugong in Singapore Aquarium, scuba dived in the Red Sea, snorkeled off Ko Phi Phi and watched dolphins from a canoe in the sea. I’ve taken a cruise down the Nile river and visited the temples and tombs on the banks. I took a road trip across America, from San Francisco to Niagara Falls. I volunteered as a teacher in Jodhpur, Rajasthan; India and went in search of tigers in the wild. I have relaxed on the beaches of Thailand, Bali and Vietnam. I was reunited with family in Poland and visited my grandfather’s birth place: St. Petersburg; Russia. I’ve inter-railed around Europe and island hopped in Greece. I’ve enjoyed the roulette wheels in Las Vegas and Macau. I have climbed the ruins of Angkor Wat and had a go at cooking Khmer food. I climbed the highest sand dune in the world, been on safari in Namibia, Botswana, Tanzania, Kenya, Zambia, and went in search for the Silverback gorilla in Uganda. I swam with 20+ wild dolphins off the coast of Zanzibar. I took a walk with lion cubs in Zimbabwe and been surprised by the sudden appearance of wild elephants at the window of a restaurant I was in. Now, I get to look over the Colosseum and Palatina Hill is beautiful! These are just some of the amazing things that I have done and seen!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Cambodia, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Greece, Italy, Japan, South Korea, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Claire’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups