Onur Erkaya's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Onur’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning Croatian
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • International Volunteer
  • Aircraft Technology-Mechanical Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey everyone,

In a nutshell, I'm Onur from Turkey. I am an energetic⚡, open-minded and smiling person😊. I graduated with Aircraft Technology✈︎ major and I'm an Ice hockey instructor⛸️—also a mechanical engineering student. , I'm an international volunteer in Croatia. I'm volunteering for an Erasmus+ project in a shelter with orphaned bears in Kuterevo. I love animals. I used to volunteer for stray animals before. There are no street animals in the country where I live now, but there are a lot of bears 🤩🐻. Also, I voluntarily give math lessons from Online platforms and my aim is to combat the inequality of opportunity in education. I am a curious person. I love exploring, meeting new people and sharing.

I was born and grew up in Turkey, but I have lived away from my family for many years. First I went to Ankara for university and then to Istanbul. Now I am in Croatia. I have been working since my childhood. I have worked in restaurants, breakfast halls, the machinery industry, the aircraft industry, and different jobs. The experience, maturity and people I gained in this way changed me a lot.

I have many professions such as machine and aircraft technician or ice skating instructor. But I see them not as a profession, they are as a hobby. I describe myself and my profession as a volunteer. My most important goal is to help and give benefit. If I have the means and the strength to do something, I have to do it. I hope that in our next encounter, I can describe myself as a social entrepreneur.

I love walking🚶🏻. I prefer walking instead of using public transport, especially on my travels. I love hiking, biking🚵, swimming🏊‍♂️, playing chess♔ and badminton🏸, skating⛸, and winter sports⛷️. I am ready to try any activity or sport. I love getting new hobbies.

The first rule is respect. We are different from one another through our experiences, flaws, choices, and destinies. And this difference makes everyone special. Please respect.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Actually, the story started with meeting people from different cultures and countries. My foreign language started to improve my perspective, ideas, truths and personality began to change. I carry a piece of everyone in my mind, ideas and character. Some set an example for me. Some became my family. Some made me realize something in my life. And more. I felt that I had grown, matured, and developed.

+ I would like to chat with you as a guest at your home. I want to spend time together, walk and try new activities. I have a lot of knowledge and experience to learn from you. I want to listen to you. I can also share my own experience and knowledge with you. I have an interesting life, story, job and dreams. I hope we will have a lot of fun and laugh. Sometimes we will think too much :)

+I live in a village in Croatia as a volunteer. In this village, we have a caravan park and campgrounds. As a host, I can host you here. You can come to Kuterevo whenever you want. I can guarantee that you will have a unique experience and enjoy it.

+Please send me a message during my travels or when you come to the area where I live. We can spend time, walk, visit together and sharing a lot with each other. I believe in the power of coincidence. I am sure we will have a great time.

Interests

  • writing
  • books
  • cooking
  • technology
  • reading
  • travel
  • volunteerism
  • winter sport

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all harry potter episodes.
I love listening to classical music and alternative rock. Actually, it just depends on my mood.
I like to read philosophy, self-help, biography and classics.

Teach, Learn, Share

Life and people are full of surprises. I have no idea what I can teach or learn to whom, but if we read each other's profiles, our expectations will be more accurate.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can pass on information about bears.

I can share with my host whatever s/he is curious about volunteering, European Union projects, Universities and my life.

I can cook Turkish food to you.

I can share my culture, experiences, knowledge and story.

And much more...

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Cyprus, Italy, Kosovo, Norway, Sweden, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Croatia, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Onur’s full profile.