Kai Fernandez's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 46% response rate
  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kai’s full profile.


  • 61 references 45 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Touring Theater and Production Tech.
  • College educated but not graduated
  • From Madison, WI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Play as much as possible and never stop learning. I spend about 9 months a year touring with various shows so I'm looking for the occasional place to stay when I have free days at the end of a tour and people to meet up with and adventure on my days off in random cities.


I work in technical theater and When I'm not working I can generally be found hiking, rock climbing, backpacking, XC skiing, snowboarding or out on some long motorcycle (and hopefully soon bicycle) trip. I am spontaneous, and always willing to risk cutting my fingers off to make you curry at any hour. I can fix most things, sew after a fashion and make great coffee/breakfast potatoes. .


I live to learn, from everyone and everything. I am interested in anything that can help local communities and lifestyles work. I do the best I can and am not on any crusade to change the world. I absolutely love my career and life these days. I am interested in people that are driven towards goals and wary of those that seem to be constantly running away.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I hosted a lot when I lived in Madison, WI and also have surfed many times while traveling solo and with a partner. I love meeting new people and learning from them.


I learned of couchsurfing while staying with a friend in Texas and have super enjoyed hosting many surfers in Madison, WI over the years as well as surfing myself and with a partner on several road trips. Recently I've surfed across the desert southwest including Austin, TX, Flagstaff, AZ, Moab, UT, Winter Park, CO and Leadville, CO.


Climbing, Backpacking, Kiting (yes, the things up in sky with strings on them!), AcroYoga, Yoga, Cooking, Reading, biking, XC Skiing, Snowboarding, and Motorcycles....the list goes on. I like to play outdoors and tinker with everything from bicycles to cars. Cross a bicycle, a bottle of wine shared over camp stove curry and you've got one cheerful Kai.

  • theater
  • dining
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • wine
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • running
  • motorcycles
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cars
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • rock climbing
  • road trips

Music, Movies, and Books

Neil Stephenson, Robert Pirsig, Douglas Adams, Jared Diamond. Most music depending on my mood. I don't have a TV so not much in the way of movies these days.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I had a really wonderful walk from Maine to Georgia in 2009/2010 and watched Sunrise from a mountain-top every day for 45 days straight. I've sailed on the Pacific Ocean on a broken down Pirate Ship. I've eaten fish and crackers at 14,163'.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love sharing food and cooking. I can teach how to feed oneself outside a restaurant. I love getting people up into the mountains or out climbing. I would love to learn how to teli-ski and kite-board.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to cook for my hosts, you can definitely expect a curry experiment while I'm your guest. I am also always open to helping with house projects, I'm fairly handy with basic electrical and plumbing. I love to explore and learn.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kai’s full profile.

My Groups