Loren Hansen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Loren’s full profile.

Overview

  • 70 references 53 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 90, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Jack of all trades, master of none
  • Ongoing
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am horrible at writing about myself but my girlfriend says that I am, "kind, resourceful, artistic, and have a quiet but wicked sense of humor." I like sports, have been on volleyball & broomball teams for 20+ years. I also like going to the theater and opera, in Minnesota and elsewhere.
I like the UofM jazz concerts too, and usually drag everybody I can to last-minute brewery visits or midnight movies. I co-host a lot with my girlfriend (www.couchsurfing.com/people/ChicagoAmy). And I am happy to loan you a bicycle and give you a tour around town, especially if we can stop for a beer somewhere too!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I go to a lot of the local events and even went to an international CS meetup in Paris last year where my trivia team won a bottle of vodka that was so bad that even the bartenders wouldn't drink it :-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've surfed for years with friends/relatives all over the world, like Prague, Munich (for Oktoberfest!), London, Madrid, Helsinki and Paris, etc. Check out my girlfriend's page for references of when we've been surfers in the U.S. and France.

Interests

Travel of course, eating my way across a country, history, participatory sports ie. (biking, volleyball, broomball, sailing, kayaking, softball, skate, ski/snowboarding, hiking etc.), gardening, robotics, museums, bingo at the VFW, oh and creating things that i can't afford :-)

  • writing
  • theater
  • concerts
  • oktoberfest
  • beer
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • trivia
  • movies
  • traveling
  • jazz
  • opera
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • volleyball
  • softball
  • history
  • last minute travel

Music, Movies, and Books

I'll listen to anything but techno. I try to catch Bluegrass Saturday Morning on 88.1FM every week, because it's a fun way to start the weekend!

I like movies that are ridiculously over the top like Monty Python or Spaceballs. Also art films or documentaries. And anything in black and white. I've been forced to watch the Gilmore Girls, but it's funny, so it's ok I guess.

I only read in the winter, otherwise there's too much to be doing outside. I like travel books and Jane Austen, cookbooks, home repair books, text manuals and robotics/computer guides. Lots of nonfiction, I guess. I mostly listen to fiction on audiobooks in the car. Hunger Games or Girl with the Dragon Tattoo recently, someone suggested them, but I liked them after all.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I rode a tiny horse in Iceland. I've bicycled across Europe three times. I've been to Italy dozens of times, and the only time I was ever pickpocketed was in France, in the Louvre.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a jack of all trades, I like to build things and take things apart. Currently bicycles. I always start a project too late though, there's never enough time it seems.
I can share that on a flight from Paris to Rome, airport security will allow a pocketknife but will confiscated your corkscrew. Just buy a corkscrew in Italy.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Friendly conversation and a beer. Cup of espresso.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Loren’s full profile.

My Groups