Isaia Nisoli

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Isaia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Swedish; learning French, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Studying mathematics
  • Ph.D. in mathematics at Pisa University
  • From Brignano G.A. (BG) Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Surviving in Rio de Janeiro


I'm 31. I grew up in a really small town of the Bergamo prefecture in Italy.
I have always really interested in reading... as a matter of fact I was really book and information addicted.

I just won a Tenure Track in Mathematics at Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, working in dynamical systems, specifically in ergodic theory.

I'm quite passionate about mathematics and I'm happy of doing what I'm doing...

I've been an activist in civil disobedience networks in Italy and I've been working in fair trade projects.
When I was a child I was bullied a lot (I've also some scars from that). Though I think I developed a strong distaste of inequalities and injustice.

I live often of wonderful coincidences. A lot of beautiful things in my life happened by chance.
I found my first house in Pisa discussing with a boy on a plane back to Italy from Sweden, I met wonderful people speaking in the train stations, I made lifelong friends on the buses in Milan.

I have been working and living with wonderful people and I would like to share what I got from my life.


I think that it is the best strategically to share and to respect. I know it irrationally, but knowing it rationally gives you an edge. And I don't understand why people cannot understand it. I would like to live in a world of peace.
I'm not religious at all, but I think that trust people and love each other is a real-life way to enlightenment.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I like to host. A lot! I like to share my love for my country and my places.
Moreover I like building networks. Sometimes I look at profiles and if I know something that may be of interest for a person, I just send her/him a message.
Maybe it is kind of weird, but I think that if the person doesn't like the suggestion he can just throw away the message, if he likes it, it is only good.
So, it's a win-win thing. Please, if you feel it was annoying, just tell me.


I've been couchsurfing in Japan and in Spain and I hosted many many people!
Every experience was great: I had the possibility of getting to know really nice people and get insights on the places I was visiting that wouldn't be possible if we were just travelling as tourists... thank you Couchsurfing!


Maths: I work in holomorphic dynamics, which is a part of what is called the theory of dynamical systems.
I like a lot maths, specially geometry.
Now, I'm moving more towards dynamical systems and chaos theory.

Music: I have been playing the clarinet for many years, and in the last years i'm trying to learn some accordeon.
I have a classical education but I really love jazz, so sometimes I try to improvise, with scarce results.

Travelling: I really like discovering new places and learning new languages... now I'm trying to learn portoguese so that I can mix in with the locals.

Chess: I have always liked chess, since I played with my friends during my teens.

Movies: everything from good blockbusters to essai movies.

Computers: I've been dealing with computer since I was ten, I like them but I've never been really good at them.
Now I'm playing with some really big computers, I'm really excited about that.

Art: I like beautiful things and during the last years I was introduced to contemporary art. I wouldn't have bet a cent on it, but, effectively, when you have the tools to understand it it can be pretty interesting.

Sports: Jogo di dentro, jogo di fora, joga bonito no jogo di angola! CAPOEIRA!

Music, Movies, and Books

Ursula K. Le Guin Hainish cycle, Fredrick Pohl Gateway, science fiction in general, Math books, Biology books, Etology, Anthropology, Evolutionism.

Everything between Punk and Contemporary music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sailing in the middle of a storm, in November between Tuscany and Corsica. Incredibly high waves, but the power of the sea was something incredibly exciting.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can bake focaccia, bread and pizza. I love cooking and make home made pasta (tagliatelle) and lasagne.
I really like to cook risotto. I know something about mathematics and informatics too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Japan, Sweden

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    12 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Isaia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups