Oscar Augestad's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Oscar’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian Bokmål; learning French
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Student
  • Material technology and french
  • From Nesodden, Viken, Norway
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello!
I'm Oscar, 24 years old and currently studying a year of french in Oslo, Norway. Beside my studies I work in a kindergarten, play football and tennis as well as hang around with friends and girlfriend. I am an outgoing person that loves to interact with people from different cultures and different backgrounds. Being social and open is the key to a happy life and I have always lived by that. I am also very interested in science as I have a bachelors degree in material technology. Working with my hands and solving practical problems is definitely one of my favorite things to do. Otherwise, I am very interested in music, movies, world history and of course food. Experiencing and enjoying food is one of the things I live for and is one of my favorite things about travel.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couch surfing mainly because I went couch surfing with my girlfriend in France this winter and I loved it. It is a brilliant opportunity to meet people and get a deeper insight into the place you visit. The fact that people offer a place to stay in a place you're visiting is something I want to be a part of, and I think its a wonderful community to join. I am also very interested in languages and especially french since I'm trying to learn that now, and through living with local people where I travel to is a way to practice this skill.
I am also on here because I'm very interested in hosting people as well. Living in the capital close to where I grew up, means that I can show people around and help out. I live with my girlfriend Marianne who is also on couch surfing, and she shares this interest as well.

Interests

  • movies
  • sports
  • tennis
  • science
  • travelling
  • football
  • food and drinks

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
- HipHop and rap, Kendrick Lamar, A tribe called quest, Wu Tang Klan ...etc
- Rock, Pink Floyd, The rolling stones, The Pretenders
- Afropop, Habib Koité, Salif Keita, Kwesta, Okkama
Movies:
- Everything by Quentin Tarantino
- La vita è bella, Cinema Paradiso
- Historical films
Books:
- Really need to read more
- Working my way through my french literature program

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I completed my skydiving license and I have around 70 jumps that I am really proud of. I did my high school in Johannesburg, South Africa and during my last year of high school (after I finally had turned 18), I became obsessed with skydiving. 2 hours from my house was the base and every weekend for almost a year I went there to jump and learn. Skydiving is just the most awesome thing I have ever experienced:)

Teach, Learn, Share

I am quite handy and believe I can contribute with knowledge regarding material science (if anyone is interested in that).
I consider myself interested in most things, and I love to learn and take in impressions. People have vastly different approaches to things which I enjoy discovering.
Otherwise, I have experiences from different parts of the world and I love conversations with people where we share political and social views, if people are interested in that of course.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am a big fan of contributing when staying at someone's house, where I can assist with domestic work like cleaning and gardening. I like practical work and don't mind getting my hands dirty. I enjoy various tasks mostly, and would love to contribute with whatever is necessary.
I would love to share my Norwegian culture and provide any tips that might be of interest to people who want to come to Norway.

Countries I’ve Visited

Botswana, Cambodia, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, England, Ethiopia, France, Italy, Kenya, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Tanzania, Thailand, United States, Yemen, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Eritrea, Norway, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Oscar’s full profile.