Oscar and Valerie Bryant's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Oscar and Valerie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 32, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Os - A tutor/gardener/Tour guide?! Valerie - Shop manager
  • Os - Bachelor of Natural Environment and Wilderness Studi...
  • From Os - Hobart. Valerie - Vence, France.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Os - To live and work in France! Valerie - To create her own recycled furniture!

ABOUT ME

We met through travelling, and that has been a fairly large portion of our life together so far! We both love to travel and discover new places, and in the future we want to visit Nepal, South America, and Tibet, whenever that becomes more viable!

We also both enjoy playing Tennis, swimming at the beach, river, lake or wherever we can find water, listening to music, cooking (as many different types of cuisine as possible!), bushwalking, renovating (we haunt the local Resource Recovery Shop (read: Tip Shop!), and love collecting lots of odds and ends. It really is amazing what you can find there! Half our flat is from the tip), reading and finally, vegetating in front of tv to a good movie or something like Six Feet Under!

PHILOSOPHY

Attempt to be as positive as possible no matter how many situations life throws at you!

Also we are major animal lovers (except for insects in Valerie's case! Don't show her your pet scorpions or spiders!), and Oscar is a bit of a animalist (in other words, he often feels more compassion for the plight of flora and fauna than he does for that of humans (in western countries that is!) ).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We offer up our sofa bed to any travellers willing to brave the deep south! Also love giving advice to anyone who wants to know more about Tassie and it's beautiful untouched (unfortunately the government is doing it's best to change that!) forests and beaches.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Stayed with the very hospitable Jeremy in Lille, and in Paris with a nice family through Hospitality club. We would obviously like to increase our couch surfing experiences however!

Interests

Read above! ^^

  • animals
  • pets
  • insects
  • dining
  • cooking
  • indian food
  • clubbing
  • shopping
  • reading
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Garden State, L'Auberge Espagnol (The Spainish Apartment), Les Poupees Russes (The Russian Dolls), Le pere noel est une ordure, Les Bronzes, Le Grand Bleu (The Big Blue), Gladiator, American Beauty, Six Feet Under (Tv Series), Motorcycle Diaries, Pedro Almodovar and the Coen Brothers movies, and various late night SBS foriegn films!

Music: Angus and Julia Stone, Radiohead, Ben Harper, Toots & Maytals, Iron and Wine, Bob Dylan/Marley, Renaud, Gomez, Mirah, Tryo and Manu Chao.

Books: L' Empire des Anges (The Empire of Angels) - Bernard Werber, L'Alchimiste (The Alchemist) - Paulo Coehlo, Le chemin dans les nuages - Osho, Walter Mosley, Ed McBain, Elmore Leonard and Ben Elton.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelling together with other backpackers in Tasmania, as our relationship unfolded to the backdrop of the beautiful sights of Tasmania.

Our trips to Thailand and Laos (spending two days traversing the Mekong River, Vang Vieng (kayaking/dodgy swings into water of varying depths, and tubing through an amazing cave for almost an hour with torches on our heads!), French restaurants in Vientiane!).

Marrying in an amazing villa perched on the mountains overlooking the provence penisula, complete with Indian punjabs and Saris, and an assortment of curries and other Indian food! (don't ask, we just had an idea and went with it!).

Hopefully many more amazing things to come!

Teach, Learn, Share

French! Oscar is still learning the joys of French, and his wife is very patent and encouraging in his attempts to speak his version of French!

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Norway, Poland, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Oscar and Valerie’s full profile. It’s free!