Oswaldo Turrubiartes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Oswaldo’s full profile.

Overview

  • 49 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Sign Language - Spanish, Spanish; learning German, Japanese, Portuguese
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Software Developer
  • Degree in Application Development
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Share languages, cultures, laughs

ABOUT ME

I'm a really open minded guy, passionate about other languages, cultures; passionate about sharing mine also.

I've grown up in three different countries (México, the USA and Spain) and they all are a part of me and who I am now. I've settled down in Madrid, nevertheless I always feel the need to travel, to host or to hang out just to be in touch with people from somewhere else and to keep up with the global connection that has been so important in my upbringing and the shaping of my world view.

I think globalization should be more about people coming together, connecting and sharing their life experiences, rather than just multinational companies coming together to exploit people. That's where Couchsurfing comes in, at least in me case.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have been on CS quite some time. I have hosted people in Madrid, I have surfed some couches in many different countries and I have had a great time every time. I got to meet some extraordinary people. For me Couchsurfing is all about the people more than the accomodation. Being able to connect with people from all across the world is absolutely priceless.

Interests

I love learning languages, talking to people from different cultures, getting to know their world view. Now and then doing some outdoor activities, going out to walk and enjoy nature. I also like reading, watching all kinds of movies and discussing them, going to museums, but especially partying hard!! I'm party animal!

  • partying
  • drinking
  • movies
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Love movies by Wes Anderson, Alejandro González Iñarritu, Jim Jarmusch, Lars von Trier. I generally enjoy independent movies. I also like series such as Sense8, Orange is the New Black, Orphan Black The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones...

Music: Franz Ferdinand, Mando Diao, Florence and the Machine, the XX, Panic! at the Disco, Muse, Green Day, The Yeah yeah yeahs, the Klaxons, Kaiser Chiefs, Artic Monkeys, Cold Play, Interpol, Muse, The Killers, Jaguares, Mana, Gotham Project, Cali, Raphael, Noir Desir, Calogero, etc

Books: HP fan, Latin American authors (like Jorge Luis Borges, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Isabel Allende, Carlos Fuentes) and Japanese literature (big Murakami fan).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Meeting people from all over! :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak Spanish, English and French quite well and I'm currently studying German. I would like to start learning some other languages... I'm just passionate about language-learning, I don't care what language it is...any language is good enough for me. I would like to learn Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Japanese, Basque,etc!

I also love learning and tasting new recipes from different countries.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A Mexican or Spanish meal, I'm always up for cooking some Mexican food for my hosts. You should try my Guacamole! I would also enjoy sharing a walk, many stories and laughs, some drinks and hard partying (if you're into that) :D

If we get to hang out or you are willing to host me, I'll be more than happy to do the same for you in Madrid!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Oswaldo’s full profile.

My Groups