Vanessa Viale's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vanessa’s full profile.


  • 13 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Norwegian; learning Cebuano, Chinese, Spanish
  • 46, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Accountatnt, diver both with and without tanks.
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Make my nest in Alona, freedive.


3x years old, not so nomadic anymore accountant. I have a home office, but have now a home adress in Panglao, Philippines. I've been living in Asia for the last 8 years, mostly Singapore. Last year has been mostly in the Philippines... mostly in Alona untill the earth quake, and then Coron at the same time as Yolanda decided to pay us a visit. Now we are back in Alona where we will stay quite put for a year or more, focusing on freediving and spreading the love.


Take it slow, savour every instant. Feel more than think. If you think about anything for too long, you can reach 3 different conclusions each one as valid as the other Listen, see, touch, taste, enjoy :)Life is too short.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Hosted a few timesback in Singapore. Haven't been that active, exccept for telling anybody I meet how great an idea couch surfing is. Now I can host, and will gladly share my humble abode with any who want to come :)


I got the diving bug a couple of years ago. I also started freediving 1 year ago. Hubby got so into it that he is now an instructor (freediving). Otherwise cooking, reading (mostly fantasy and SF, even though a bit of everything creeps in my Kindle from time to time). Oh, and taking underwater pics.

  • cooking
  • instructor
  • reading
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Let's just list a few shall we? Movies: anything. On hungover days, romance, bad SF, lots of explosions of the headache is not too bad. On other days, depends on the mood. Favourite movies: 5th element, Amadeus, Matrix, le pere noël est une ordure, dangerous iaisons, Amelie, manon des sources....
Music: rock, pop, whatever: Grieg, Björk, Noir désir,Goldfrapp, depeche mode, the cure, Bob Hund, Evanescence, CCR, Massive attack...
Books: I devore books. I can read anything. If no books are available, the back of the shampoo bottle can do as well. I always have at least 3 books going. Mostly I read fantasy and SF but you, shampoo too.
Favourite: Dune, wheel of time, The name of the wind, any Brandon Sanderson books, Baudelaire, Poe, Memoirs of a geisha, illuminaty trilogy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Waking up in the morning. Amazing. Every time.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am no teacher, but I love to cook for others. Hubby is a freediving instructor, as we are one, I feel confident I can share his teaching skills :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Indonesia, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Norway, Singapore

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Vanessa’s full profile.

My Groups