Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ozgul’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning French
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Student
  • Graduate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I am involved in theatre and performance since 2001. Currently, working towards the completion of my doctoral education. I study performance studies in Canada.

The first thing I am curious about a new city is its theatre/performance scene! Then queer and feminist events. I am also curious to learn about politics of resistance in the places I visit. I definitely enjoy meeting new people with whom I can share these interests.

I am in between cities right now. However, there is chance of me being able to host in Istanbul.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I travel a lot. I believe in sharing spaces respectully. I think I am also a good host. So, I immediately signed up when I heard about this website. I am not an active user but a loyal one.

Interests

My interests take me to the second hand bookstores, theatres, contemporary dance festivals (LOVE them!), feminist gatherings, queer spaces, quiet places where I can meditate through books, music and writing..

  • books
  • performing arts
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies:
Heavenly Creatures
Persona
Triology: red/white/blue
Cherry Time
Seperation
Export/Import
Anayurdu/Motherland

Music:
Janis Joplin, Patti Smith, Ani Difranco, Björk, Nick Cave, Violette Parra, Anu Brun, Laurie Anderson, Meredith Monk and many others..

Books:
Sula (toni morrison)
Sense of Ending (julian barnes)
Joke (milan kundera)
Malina (bachmann)
Gecede (leyla erbil)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I cried without worrying about it during a conversation once.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Turkish. I can answer your questions on Turkey and Istanbul.
Probably I am a good company to see shows together.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My experience on theatre, performance, academia, university life, Istanbul, activism around queer and feminist politics...

I am also willing to participate in doing useful housework for the hosts - let me know if I can be helpful in some way during my stay!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, Canada, England, France, Germany, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see ozgul’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups