Alan Pagoto's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 212 references 147 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning French, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Software developer
  • Graduated - Information Systems
  • From Curitiba, Paraná, Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

!!! IMPORTANT !!! We decided to "take a break" with newcomers and people that use Couchsurfing only to surf. At this time we're hosting ONLY people that are actively hosting and have a few recent hosting references (not that hosted a couple of people 10 years ago). We would change the status to "Not accepting guests" but we are keeping this to not leave in the lurch people that share their spaces with other members. We're sorry if we don't answer your request or decline without an explanation, we're pretty busy at the moment with some personal issues.

ABOUT ME

I was born in Curitiba (Brazil) and moved to Montreal in March/2021. I love both places.

I got married in 2015 to Tati Custódio (www.couchsurfing.org/people/tatielle.custodio).

I found out CouchSurfing during my trip to Belo Horizonte and after this moment I've known a lot of people, countries and cultures. I play guitar (not so good but I like it a lot), I love to write songs and read about history (although I prefer going to the bars rather than museums when I'm traveling lol).

PHILOSOPHY

We have to study and work but We have to enjoy living as well. For me, it happens when we're traveling around and meeting people of different cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I try to make everything that CouchSurfing let me do. I host people from Brazil and other countries, I surf and hand out with friends of my city and the travellers who are staying here. It's changed my life because I could meet a lot of awesome people who I would like to see again. I don't know if it is possible but I'll keep trying =]I've been organizating some meetings with poker players in Curitiba. We always have a good moment with drinks, laughs and cards. I hope it will never end =]

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

In my first experience on CS I hosted a member of northeast of Brazil, and it was a lot of fun. We travelled together to Uruguay with my father.After that, I hosted a lot of people in my place. One of my best CouchSurfing experiences is when I travelled to Chile and staied about seven days on a couch. I drank Pisco Sour almost everyday with my host, and his mother cooked a snack for my ski experience, because It was very expensive at the station.I spent my last birthday there, and there was a lot of CS members at the party. Really, it was terrific!After a lot of barbecues, parties and trips with other members of CS Curitiba, I met my first CS friend again (the member of northeast of Brazil) at his home in Porto de Galinhas. It was a lot of fun, and that place is the best beach of my country!

Interests

- I definitely love travelling (as everyone here does lol)
- I love playing chess (I have a board here in case you want to play)
- I like playing songs on my acoustic guitar (actually I haven't had time for it) or in the piano (I'm starting)
- I love dogs (specially Golden Retrievers, they are angels in this world) and animals at all (that's why I'm doing my best to stop eating them)
- I love physics, astronomy, astrophotography and northern lights. I have an Instagram about that @canada.science

  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • guitar
  • skiing
  • astronomy
  • history
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • astrophysics
  • astrophotography

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:

Simon & Garfunkel, Flogging Molly, Frank Turner, David Bowie, Procol Harum, Leonard Cohen, Radiohead, Foo Fighters, Rammstein, Ira!.

Books:

Actually I've been reading only technical books but I love some books like Shackleton's Incredible Voyage, Animal Farm, 1984 (George Orwell at all).

TV:

Flight of the conchords, Breaking Bad, Better Call Saul, Queens Gambit (actually this one is not amazing but I like everything that talks about chess). My favorite movies are The Secret in Their Eyes, Cidade de Deus and Parasite. I'm definitely not a Hollywood fan.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Got married and made an awesome honeymoon with a great couchsurfing experience. We've been to Dubai and Thailand!

Walked on the Via Dolorosa street in Jerusalem.

Visited Moraine and Louise lakes in Banff National Park - Alberta - Canada

My journey through Peru and Mexico was awesome! I could know a lot of awesome places and funny people! I really want to meet it all again!

I did the Tongariro Alpine Crossing in New Zealand with more than fifty other CouchSurfers. It's a 19.4km walking through some volcanes and mountains. It was really awesome!

My ski experience in Chile was awesome as well!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some chess openings & defenses, some maths and anything that I know about Brazil or Canada

I can also teach portuguese and some cheap flights tips

What I Can Share with Hosts

At the moment we are busy and giving preference to host people during the week since we want to rest and take some time for us in the weekend.

During the day we might not be able to go out with our guests but we appreciate if they can go out to discover the city since I work from home and having people talking near my work station makes me lose my focus.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Laos, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Canada, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • 49 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Alan’s full profile.

My Groups